Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very good taste and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I thought this was good. My kids didn't really care for it though. I think if I try it again I will try it with bbq sauce intead of ketchup like some other people suggested. I also didn't put in the celery since we don't like it. I think these would be good without hamburger meat too. Some people said it was to too sweet with the amount of brown sugar, but I thought it tasted good like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
It tastes good, but I'd prefer it without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was good, but not great. I couldn't find butter or lima beans, so I used white beans and black beans instead. It was pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Always a hit! Love the sweetness of this recipe. The perfect compliment to burgers and brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgeon Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I get requests for this all the time. Great for a bbq side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I love this recipe. I followed the recipe to the tee everytime and it turns out perfect. This is one of my family favorites. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was much too sweet for my family's liking. The catsup is already sweetened ao a cup of brown sugar is too much. I think 1/2 cup would have been better. Also, the bacon is a nice addition but if I make this again I will fry it first then brown the beef in the bacon drippings and add the crumbled bacon to the dish just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Made this for the 4th of July! So far today (the next day), I have had 3 people email me for the recipe! It is great! I used a combo of butter beans, great northern beans, pork and beans and light kidney beans. Next time I would probably use black beans instead of the butter beans for a little more visual contrast. I also added a little splash of liquid smoke to give them a more smokey taste. I cooked them uncovered and really enjoyed the "crust" that formed on top. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I made this for a large group of friends over the weekend. Everyone loved it! I made it in the crockpot, as suggested. I couldn't find the butter beans I purchased,(the boy child helped unload the groceries) and I left out the celery and onion intentionally because so many people don't care for them. This is my new favorite side to my BBQ meals. I will, however, make it next time with the butter beans. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States