Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My mom used to make this when I was a child, only her recipe was labeled "One Pot Dinner". This is a phenomenal dish for those winter months. I do believe that the 2 cups of brown sugar are bit much, and use half of that and it's plenty sweet enough. Mom always added just a wee bit of liquid smoke to it, and I find it so much better that way. I suppose you could substitute your favorite bbq sauce for the ketchup for the same effect. I make it in the crockpot, on low for 4 hours or so; it's a HUGE hit at potluck suppers or barbecues :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Good beans! Great taste, easy to throw together and very inexpensive. I made a few minor changes based on what I had on hand and personal taste. First of all, I cooked the bacon alone untill it was browned, then I added the onion and ground beef. I know from past experience that cooking the bacon with the ground beef makes for bacon that is too underdone for our taste.We like it very done. Next, I did not have kidney beans or butter beans, so I used black beans and pinto beans instead. (I think almost any bean combo would work.) I also cut the amount of brown sugar in half and am glad I did as it was plenty sweet for our taste with 1/2 C. Next, I didn't have mustard powder so I used 1T yellow mustard,also had no white wine vinegar so I used plain white vinegar, omited the celery and added a little liquid smoke to the mix aprox 1-2t. I do not own a 4 quart casserole, so I just simmered it on the stove for aprox 1 1/2 hrs. I served this with sweet corn bread and we had a very tasty meal! I will definitely make this again and again. My picky husband even gave it the thumbs up! Thanks Kathy! Note..I give this recipe 5 stars only after cutting back on the brown sugar, I personaly think that 1 C would have been way too sweet. I would advise adding only 1/2 C, then taste before adding more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I only gave 4 stars because I made adjustments to the recipe. I only used half the amount of brown sugar and it was still a tad sweet for my taste, but the vinegar helped to cut it. I also used red wine vinegar because I didn't have any white wine vinegar. I used ground turkey and let is simmer for 1 1/2 hours on the stove instead of putting it in the over. This created more juices so I served it over brown rice and it was a hit. Not the prettiest dish in the world, but tasty none the less. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was good - but I did have to make quite a few changes. I used a 1/2 lb. of bacon - so not sure if that equals to a 1/2 cup or not. I also added an additional can of pork and beans. I reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, reduced the vinegar to 2 tablespoons (and used apple cider vinegar), increased the mustard powder to 1/2 tablespoon and added a teaspoon of salt. I omitted the celery. I sautéed the bacon for a bit on it's own first and then added the ground beef and onion. I mixed up the sauce in a separate bowl. Then, I added everything to a 13 x 9 x 2" baking dish and combined it. Covered it and baked for an hour as stated. Making it this way, I LOVED it! Thanks for sharing something I could build off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I had this the first time on the 4th of July at a friends. I was immediately addicted to this dish. I used pinto, baked, black and butter beans.I noticed that some people said that could not find the lima or butter beans. In my store they are not with the kidney and baked beans but near the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LETITIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I could have done cartwheels when I tasted this! I took other's advice and used black beans for a more calico look. Did not use pork and beans tho. My husband (who hates baked beans) begrudgingley tried these....and LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is delicious and hearty bean dish. I decreased the amount of brown sugar to 1/2 cup & the vinegar to 2 Tablespoons and added a can of black beans to the mixture. By decreasing the sugar the falvor of the beans come through. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the alterations I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REECES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pella, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Loved these beans! Didn't find lima beans at the store, so I picked up a can of pinto. Also, I used 3/4 cup brown sugar and they were plenty sweet. I omitted the hamburger, because it seemed like too much meat making these as a side dish for BBQ ribs! Our new bean recipe - the best I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I have been making this for years and it is well received everywhere.. I prefer to make it in the crockpot and let it cook for 5-6 hours without stirring but once. I also put a touch of liquid smoke in mine to add to the "outdoor" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Don't be put off by the large amount of brown sugar - it MAKES this recipe! I've made a very close variation of this recipe for years- the only difference is that I use prepared yellow mustard (same measurement as ketsup) instead of dried. To this day, this is the ONLY bean recipe my 14 year old will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States