Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My boys loved it. I followed the review's and cut down the brown sugar by 1/2. I also added some barbecue sauce. I have kids that wont eat onions so I used onion powder. We dont like lima beans so I did 2 pork and beans. I did brown the bacon first and then the beef. It is very good. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My sister inlaw said i should try making these. I've never had them before. I must say i loved them!!! Gonna make more for my family today. They didn't last long and i didn't get my fill of them. Very good recipe and ty for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Delicios when served with buttermilk cornbread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Awesome! My husband swears this tastes just like his grandmother's cherished family recipe. I have also made this with a mixed variety of beans, always with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
For this recipe there is never a spoonful left. I have used different combinations of beans, usually what I have on hand and it always seems to come out great. This has never failed as a passing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan Center, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made a double batch in a crockpot for a family party-it was a great hit! To keep it vegetarian, I omitted the pork&beans, hamburger and bacon and added black beans and 2 tsp liquid smoke. I also cut down the brown sugar by 25% due to reviews that said it was too sweet. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This recipe is identical to my grandma's recipe that I have been eating for over 25 years (minus the celery). Very good. I make this for all the yard parties I have in the summer and always get asked for the recipe. You can use most any combination of beans when making it, not just the ones listed. If you use kidney beans make sure to drain and rinse them. I have made them in the oven, on the grill, a crock pot, and even my smoker and they turn out great no matter how you cook them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKMONSTR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ree Heights, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Stratford, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
By far the best bean recipe my husband has ever had!! Still raving about them and begging me to make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This is excellent. I actually made some changes due to personal preference, but 5 stars to this one. Instead of lima beans, I use great northern beans. I added a can of pinto beans, as well. The only other change I made was I omitted the celery and sauteed the onion in the bacon/beef grease. Again, personal preference. Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Loved it! This recipe seems universally popular for potlucks, etc. I love it because it's so easy to make. It can be a little sweet, but you can always adjust the sugar as you need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaelene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States