Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Easy, excellent, and inexpensive to prepare for a gathering. Always-- I take home an empty pot, and i double recipe for potlucks. (I take in a crock pot to keep warm.) Very pleasing to the plate and tummy! Will keep on making for years to come. A meal alone with a green salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
These are fantastic. I don't know anyone who can eat only one helping...very addicting. I prefer to make mine in the crockpot so they don't burn. The texture seems to be better as well this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Excellent recipe. I loved it and I don't even like "regular" baked beans. I will make this often for picnics or large gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
With the exception of celery (none on hand) made recipe as written. Delicious with many requests for the recipe. Thank you for sharing, Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This is the best recipe! I eat it alone as a meal. I make this at least once a week. Its a must try! We like to eat it cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
this is a all time favorite whenever I am going to a cook out I am asked to bring this, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I made a double batch for Thanksgiving and I was the only one who ate it. It's okay, but not something that I will make again. It tasted like pork and beans, just prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
TASTY! These were a huge hit at Easter Dinner! (I accidentally rated the wrong Calico Beans recipe - ignore my other one!) This is the one!!! There was hardly any left over! I did brown the bacon first, and then the hamburger and onions together. Made exactly as stated and it was a wonderful alternative to the usualy baked beans! Everyone went back for 2nds! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
These beans are great, I always make a double batch! Since I double the recipe, I do drain one of the cans of butter beans so as to not have them too runny. I brown the hamburger and then mix all the ingredients in a large bowl. Because all the ingredients (besides the hamburger) are "ready to eat" I put it in my crockpot set on low heat and forget about it until I'm ready to serve. This has seemed to work well for me and the consistency has always been perfect, not soupy and not stucco like; just perfect! This is a great recipe for a family gatherings or when you need that perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This recipe is awesome. My stepdaughters request it all the time. Easy to make and clean up. I cut back on the brown sugar to 3/4 cup and added more ketchup 3/4 to 1 cup as others have suggested. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States