Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Wow! WAY TOO SWEET!!! 1. I needed to stretch this recipe so I added 2 more cans of beans. 2. Based on other reviews, I halved the brown sugar. Even with the extra beans 1/2 C brown sugar was too much. 3. 1/2 C ketchup also seems to be too much. Too ketchupy. 4. As far as I can tell, Lima beans and butter beans are the same thing (ingredients list on the back of can of butter beans says "Lima beans"!). This was particularly confusing as the recipe wants me to drain the Lima beans, but not the butter beans!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I just made this and it is very very sweet. I recommend you start with a 1/3 cup of brown sugar (and if you need more, add sugar sparingly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This recipe is also on the Bush Beans website. Perhaps the same person submitted to both?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! I must have made this 100 times by now (don't know why I didn't rate this sooner) and each time I make it I get compliments and requests for the recipe. About 2 years ago, my hubby went vegetarian so now I make this without the meat and bacon and it still is a huge hit! It's nice to make and bring something that both vegetarians and others can both enjoy! I make this at least once every 2 weeks for him in his recipe rotation and he (we) never tire of it. Try this recipe! Oh, and I use whatever beans I have on hand - as long as you use the pork and beans (or baked beans) the rest of the beans can be any combination and it always tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was a big hit at our family reunion yesterday. I doubled the recipe and after browning the burger and onions together, I combined it all in the crock pot, set it on high for 2 hours to get it going, then set on low the next 2 hrs. It was perfect in time for the reunion, and I had 3 people ask me for the recipe. The only thing I left out was the celery because I'm not a big fan of it. My 3 guys were a bit disappointed there weren't any leftovers to take home! I will make this as a main dish at home again because its tasty, very filling and especially very economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. I followed the directions exactly and make this for many occasions since it is always requested for get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made these when I needed to get something in the crockpot quick. I used a ring of polska kielbasa instead of burger and bacon. Only used a can of baked beans and the lima and butter beans. Added no brown sugar at all, not needed, and just a squirt of ketchup. This was good and I will make again in a foil pan to throw on the bbq when camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davesgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This recipe is so good! I make it without the lima beans (I hate them) and celery (my husband hates it) and substitute apple cider vinegar for regular vinegar because that is all I buy. I make this for dinner at least every few weeks and serve with cornbread and take it to potlucks. I always get requests for the recipe. Even people that don't like beans like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Good overall, but overly sweet for our tastes... Even with the use of the recommendations to halve the brown sugar and use tomato sauce instead of ketchup. I found myself adding chilie powder to give it some other flavor but SWEET, but it was still just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Fantastic. I don't use any onions, and I've used different beans, and it is always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States