Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
this is a great recipe...i did modify it somewhat though...i doubled most of the ingredients, slow cooked it in a crock pot, added hot sauce, used black beans instead of lima beans and added a little seasoning salt and cayenne pepper. I also added two cans of diced tomatos. Its great if you life spicy foods. To make it even tastier, sprinkle shredded cheddar cheese or lay a slice of pepperjack cheese on top of the chili when you put it in a bowl to eat. I also used the sweet corn bread recipe on this site to go with it. My friends, roommate and family beg me to make this recipe constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I loved these beans! I made them as a side dish for an Easter get together. I left out the ground beef and used bacon bits. Thay turned out great. I cooked them at 275 degrees for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I love this recipe. My grandma makes it a lot and I got it from here once and it is almost exactly like this one except no celery. What I like to do though is not include the bacon and the ground beef and use ground turkey instead. In my opinion ALL The flavor comes from the beans, ketchup, spices, and sugar. You usually can't even tell the bacon is there and the meat is just a textural element, so might as well make it significantly helping there by getting rid of those two things. It also makes it easier to make if you leave out the bacon since you don't have to mess with it. I just brown the turkey and dump everything in the crockpot, it can cook all day. In fact I like it better after it HAS cooked all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Delicious! I used less sugar and malt vinegar because I didn't have white wine vinegar. No celery & I only had hormel bacon pieces. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This recipe is fantastic. I made them for a Western style party, about 100 people. Everyone raved over them. I sent the recipe to so many people. Thanks for sharing it with us. I will definately make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Sandersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Great recipe. Everyone at work loved it at the potluck. However I forgot to add the brown sugar at first since the instructions never say to add it. :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I thought this was great. My husband doesn't like beans but he thought this was good. I also added some rice. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
These beans are scrumptious! I used store bought bacon bits instead of cooking fresh bacon. I left out the vinegar and celery also. I make them during the summer for picnics...thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I've made this several times, including for Thanksgiving, and everyone has loved it. It is sweet, but we like it that way and haven't changed a thing. We use it as the main course for dinner as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Plumas Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Great flavor, I added much less brown sugar, and didn't add the bacon. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States