Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Loved these beans! Didn't find lima beans at the store, so I picked up a can of pinto. Also, I used 3/4 cup brown sugar and they were plenty sweet. I omitted the hamburger, because it seemed like too much meat making these as a side dish for BBQ ribs! Our new bean recipe - the best I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I have been making this for years and it is well received everywhere.. I prefer to make it in the crockpot and let it cook for 5-6 hours without stirring but once. I also put a touch of liquid smoke in mine to add to the "outdoor" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Don't be put off by the large amount of brown sugar - it MAKES this recipe! I've made a very close variation of this recipe for years- the only difference is that I use prepared yellow mustard (same measurement as ketsup) instead of dried. To this day, this is the ONLY bean recipe my 14 year old will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This casserole, with a pan of "Golden Sweet Cornbread" (also from this site), is one of my husband's favorite suppers. I often omit the bacon to reduce fat and calories, and it's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very good taste and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I thought this was good. My kids didn't really care for it though. I think if I try it again I will try it with bbq sauce intead of ketchup like some other people suggested. I also didn't put in the celery since we don't like it. I think these would be good without hamburger meat too. Some people said it was to too sweet with the amount of brown sugar, but I thought it tasted good like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
It tastes good, but I'd prefer it without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was good, but not great. I couldn't find butter or lima beans, so I used white beans and black beans instead. It was pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Always a hit! Love the sweetness of this recipe. The perfect compliment to burgers and brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgeon Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I get requests for this all the time. Great for a bbq side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States