Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I could have done cartwheels when I tasted this! I took other's advice and used black beans for a more calico look. Did not use pork and beans tho. My husband (who hates baked beans) begrudgingley tried these....and LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is delicious and hearty bean dish. I decreased the amount of brown sugar to 1/2 cup & the vinegar to 2 Tablespoons and added a can of black beans to the mixture. By decreasing the sugar the falvor of the beans come through. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the alterations I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REECES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pella, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Loved these beans! Didn't find lima beans at the store, so I picked up a can of pinto. Also, I used 3/4 cup brown sugar and they were plenty sweet. I omitted the hamburger, because it seemed like too much meat making these as a side dish for BBQ ribs! Our new bean recipe - the best I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I have been making this for years and it is well received everywhere.. I prefer to make it in the crockpot and let it cook for 5-6 hours without stirring but once. I also put a touch of liquid smoke in mine to add to the "outdoor" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Don't be put off by the large amount of brown sugar - it MAKES this recipe! I've made a very close variation of this recipe for years- the only difference is that I use prepared yellow mustard (same measurement as ketsup) instead of dried. To this day, this is the ONLY bean recipe my 14 year old will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This casserole, with a pan of "Golden Sweet Cornbread" (also from this site), is one of my husband's favorite suppers. I often omit the bacon to reduce fat and calories, and it's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very good taste and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I thought this was good. My kids didn't really care for it though. I think if I try it again I will try it with bbq sauce intead of ketchup like some other people suggested. I also didn't put in the celery since we don't like it. I think these would be good without hamburger meat too. Some people said it was to too sweet with the amount of brown sugar, but I thought it tasted good like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
It tastes good, but I'd prefer it without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was good, but not great. I couldn't find butter or lima beans, so I used white beans and black beans instead. It was pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States