Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
The absolute easiest base recipe. I have cooked as written (which is great, although a bit sweet for our taste) and also changed everything from the amounts, the type of meat, how its cooked and the kind of beans and I've always had it turn out great. (Always use baked beans, though.) Some suggestions for alternates: use shredded roast in place of hamburger, use full cup of brwn sugar but exchange tomato sauce for ketchup, use sausage and 1 lb bacon. You really can change this recipe to totally suit your family's taste or to make it a sidedish instead of the main dish. Also, it freezes well: put leftovers in ziplock baggie to freeze- pop in microwave or heat on stovetop for quick meal. THANK YOU!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
The best baked beans we've ever had. Took them to a party last night and got rave reviews. Instead of baking, i made them early and put them in a crockpot for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Great! I omitted the celery and pork and beans, and used cans of kidney, lima, pinto and black-eyed peas. I also added a little more bacon, and some of our favorite Rudy's BBQ sauce, great for BBQ get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Really, really good! Made exactly as stated...I thought it odd at first that this could be something that you could bring to Thanksgiving, a cookout or a pot luck....but it really is just that kind of a dish! My son said it was the "bestest" meal I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My boys loved it. I followed the review's and cut down the brown sugar by 1/2. I also added some barbecue sauce. I have kids that wont eat onions so I used onion powder. We dont like lima beans so I did 2 pork and beans. I did brown the bacon first and then the beef. It is very good. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My sister inlaw said i should try making these. I've never had them before. I must say i loved them!!! Gonna make more for my family today. They didn't last long and i didn't get my fill of them. Very good recipe and ty for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Delicios when served with buttermilk cornbread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Awesome! My husband swears this tastes just like his grandmother's cherished family recipe. I have also made this with a mixed variety of beans, always with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
For this recipe there is never a spoonful left. I have used different combinations of beans, usually what I have on hand and it always seems to come out great. This has never failed as a passing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan Center, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made a double batch in a crockpot for a family party-it was a great hit! To keep it vegetarian, I omitted the pork&beans, hamburger and bacon and added black beans and 2 tsp liquid smoke. I also cut down the brown sugar by 25% due to reviews that said it was too sweet. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States