Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Excellent, but far too sweet for our tastes. No big deal though, I just cut the sugar in half and it was so good. You can throw any beans you want in and it's always good. Family wants this at all the BBQ's. Thanks Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was very good! I made several changes so I know it's hardly fair to rate it but here goes... I used one can of chili beans, one can of kidney beans, one can of black beans and one can of great northern beans. I sauteed the onion with the ground beef. I let the meat cook a little before I added the onion so I wouldn't need to add any oil for the onion. I only used 3/4 cup of sugar and eliminated the bacon. I'm sure the bacon would have put it over-the-top amazing, but I didn't want to bother to defrost a whole package from my freezer to use a little here. I will be making this again. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Years ago I worked with a really good friend and for every potluck she brought these beans. I loved them so much it was usually all I ate at the potluck. As written this recipe is the bomb so meat eaters try it, you will love it. Since then i have become a vegetarian. So is my son and kinda picky so here is what i did to tweak it for us. No ground beef, used 1 cup tvp. No pork in beans, just veggie baked beans. No ketchup (my son hates it), so drained a can of diced tomatoes, pured and used 1/2 cup of that. No bacon and for the smoky flavor I used 4 chilpolte peppers in adobo sauce, pured. My son also hates mustard of any kind so for that mustard tang i used1 small can of diced green chilis. I also used apple cider vinegar because I love it better than white. Everything else was the same as the original recipe. Yes, that was major tweaking on this otherwise awesome recipe but WOW! It came out very very yummy. For you veggie peoples give this tweaked version a try :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
use only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, decrease vinegar to 2 tbs, skip celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boiling Springs, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I make this for all our family gatherings by request and my family loves it. I mix the beans up sometimes when I can't find the exact beans it calls for. I have noticed that brand name pork and beans lend a better flavor than the generic ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
The absolute easiest base recipe. I have cooked as written (which is great, although a bit sweet for our taste) and also changed everything from the amounts, the type of meat, how its cooked and the kind of beans and I've always had it turn out great. (Always use baked beans, though.) Some suggestions for alternates: use shredded roast in place of hamburger, use full cup of brwn sugar but exchange tomato sauce for ketchup, use sausage and 1 lb bacon. You really can change this recipe to totally suit your family's taste or to make it a sidedish instead of the main dish. Also, it freezes well: put leftovers in ziplock baggie to freeze- pop in microwave or heat on stovetop for quick meal. THANK YOU!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
The best baked beans we've ever had. Took them to a party last night and got rave reviews. Instead of baking, i made them early and put them in a crockpot for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Great! I omitted the celery and pork and beans, and used cans of kidney, lima, pinto and black-eyed peas. I also added a little more bacon, and some of our favorite Rudy's BBQ sauce, great for BBQ get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Really, really good! Made exactly as stated...I thought it odd at first that this could be something that you could bring to Thanksgiving, a cookout or a pot luck....but it really is just that kind of a dish! My son said it was the "bestest" meal I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My boys loved it. I followed the review's and cut down the brown sugar by 1/2. I also added some barbecue sauce. I have kids that wont eat onions so I used onion powder. We dont like lima beans so I did 2 pork and beans. I did brown the bacon first and then the beef. It is very good. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States