Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Great basic recipe. I agree with others that you only need to use half the amount of sugar. Very easy to play around with by changing the types of beans and meat. I used seasoned sausage, white vinegar and added in some extra baked beans and chili beans to fill a crock pot for a family reunion. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Addicting! We reduced the sugar and added a bit more smoke flavor and upped the vinegar just a bit for more zing. Get's rave reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
A budget-friendly family favorite. However, I do make it a wee bit more economical by starting with dry beans, and cooking them in water with a ham bone from our last ham dinner. Once the beans are cooked, I remove the bone and let it cool. In the mean time, I place the beans in my crock pot with all of the standard ingredients, sometimes going lighter on the ground beef and bacon. Once the ham bone cools, I remove any usable meat from the bone and put it in with the beans. Let it cook for several hours on low. The dry beans don't have the additives that canned beans have, so its a bit healthier, and I usually get enough tasty meat from a ham bone that the family doesn't notice that I used less bacon and hamburger. A win for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Really great basic recipe you tweak to your liking. I usually omit the butter beans (hate them) and double up on the kidney beans. It's a bit sweet made as written so I also cut back on the sugar. Really good if you add some garlic powder and a bit of paprika too. My 22 month old loves it with steamed rice. Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was good. I had to use red wine vinegar as that is all I had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I give this 5 stars because it's a quick dish for parties and everyone likes it. It's full of fiber fiber fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Excellent, but far too sweet for our tastes. No big deal though, I just cut the sugar in half and it was so good. You can throw any beans you want in and it's always good. Family wants this at all the BBQ's. Thanks Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was very good! I made several changes so I know it's hardly fair to rate it but here goes... I used one can of chili beans, one can of kidney beans, one can of black beans and one can of great northern beans. I sauteed the onion with the ground beef. I let the meat cook a little before I added the onion so I wouldn't need to add any oil for the onion. I only used 3/4 cup of sugar and eliminated the bacon. I'm sure the bacon would have put it over-the-top amazing, but I didn't want to bother to defrost a whole package from my freezer to use a little here. I will be making this again. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Years ago I worked with a really good friend and for every potluck she brought these beans. I loved them so much it was usually all I ate at the potluck. As written this recipe is the bomb so meat eaters try it, you will love it. Since then i have become a vegetarian. So is my son and kinda picky so here is what i did to tweak it for us. No ground beef, used 1 cup tvp. No pork in beans, just veggie baked beans. No ketchup (my son hates it), so drained a can of diced tomatoes, pured and used 1/2 cup of that. No bacon and for the smoky flavor I used 4 chilpolte peppers in adobo sauce, pured. My son also hates mustard of any kind so for that mustard tang i used1 small can of diced green chilis. I also used apple cider vinegar because I love it better than white. Everything else was the same as the original recipe. Yes, that was major tweaking on this otherwise awesome recipe but WOW! It came out very very yummy. For you veggie peoples give this tweaked version a try :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
use only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, decrease vinegar to 2 tbs, skip celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boiling Springs, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States