Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by coltonsmama2011
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Pretty good, great for a cold day and not too sweet. The butter beans seem a little off for this recipe but it isn't bad. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great, I would just reduce the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I've made this several times. Always a little different depending on what is in my kitchen. This time I substituted ham for bacon and added a healthy teaspoon of liquid smoke. I cook it covered on top of the stove on low heat for an hour and let it sit overnight. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Yummy and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Wow! WAY TOO SWEET!!! 1. I needed to stretch this recipe so I added 2 more cans of beans. 2. Based on other reviews, I halved the brown sugar. Even with the extra beans 1/2 C brown sugar was too much. 3. 1/2 C ketchup also seems to be too much. Too ketchupy. 4. As far as I can tell, Lima beans and butter beans are the same thing (ingredients list on the back of can of butter beans says "Lima beans"!). This was particularly confusing as the recipe wants me to drain the Lima beans, but not the butter beans!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I just made this and it is very very sweet. I recommend you start with a 1/3 cup of brown sugar (and if you need more, add sugar sparingly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! I must have made this 100 times by now (don't know why I didn't rate this sooner) and each time I make it I get compliments and requests for the recipe. About 2 years ago, my hubby went vegetarian so now I make this without the meat and bacon and it still is a huge hit! It's nice to make and bring something that both vegetarians and others can both enjoy! I make this at least once every 2 weeks for him in his recipe rotation and he (we) never tire of it. Try this recipe! Oh, and I use whatever beans I have on hand - as long as you use the pork and beans (or baked beans) the rest of the beans can be any combination and it always tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Wolszon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was a big hit at our family reunion yesterday. I doubled the recipe and after browning the burger and onions together, I combined it all in the crock pot, set it on high for 2 hours to get it going, then set on low the next 2 hrs. It was perfect in time for the reunion, and I had 3 people ask me for the recipe. The only thing I left out was the celery because I'm not a big fan of it. My 3 guys were a bit disappointed there weren't any leftovers to take home! I will make this as a main dish at home again because its tasty, very filling and especially very economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. I followed the directions exactly and make this for many occasions since it is always requested for get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made these when I needed to get something in the crockpot quick. I used a ring of polska kielbasa instead of burger and bacon. Only used a can of baked beans and the lima and butter beans. Added no brown sugar at all, not needed, and just a squirt of ketchup. This was good and I will make again in a foil pan to throw on the bbq when camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davesgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States