Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I've made these for years and they are perfect! I sometimes leave out the ground beef if using this as a side dish with other heavy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very good! We like a little less sugar to taste....but that's just our preference. We doubled the mustard. Some brands of ketchup are sweeter than others, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHETTDIXIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
With suggestions from others, I added the ketchup and these were delicious!! They spent a few hours in my crock pot, and leftovers will not last long in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
The beans are absolutely wonderful. My daughter-in-law used ground turkey in place of beef (that's is what she had already) and home cured bacon. She said they got a little too dry but everyone loved them. what a great addition to our Labor Day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I make this dish twice a year, for Easter and our annual family picnic. My Grandma used to make it, now I do. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
great hearty side for summer bbq
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Tastes good for a baked bean without tomatoes. Tastes amazing with tomatoes and chili powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is a tried and true standby at our house. I've beeen making it for years, and it's always a hit at barbeques and casual pot lucks. It can be done in the crockpot, simmered on the stove, or baked in the oven. I frequently substitute a high quality bulk pork sausage for the ground beef, and the flavor is great. I've used different combinations of beans (including black beans, white beans, cannelini beans, pintos, etc), and I've added 1 T molasses. I generally use only 1 T of dry mustard. Try a couple of tsps of Sriracha chili sauce --- gives it a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
last night in The Biggest Loser, they served chili in an opened baked potatoe...perhaps the same could be done with this recipe. I am going to try it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Love it. I cook it on the stovetop - simmer for 30 minutes or so. I add some water because my first batch turned out thick and pasty. 1/2 cup to 1 cup of water does the trick. That's in addition to the 1 C ketchup other reviewers recommend; definitely add that. It turns out great - I've already had recipe requests. It's the only way I'll eat lima beans (butter beans work, too). My hubby thinks the limas are essential because of their starch and their shape holds the sauce well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States