Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
My family couldn't get enough of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Made this exactly as written last night and hubby ate 2 huge plates of it. Next time I'll cut down on the sugar a bit but this will be a staple in our house from now on. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very, very good. I reduced the brown sugar by 1/3 and the sweetness was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I have made this recipe several times and we absolutely love it! Today we are having smoked ribs so I am going to make it without the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Just okay for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I know everyone hates it when you change the recipe however since I need to watch I am always looking for how I can replicate the delicious recipe but with healthier options substituted. So, for those who are in my boat: This recipe is GREAT and hard to mess up. I substituted ground turkey, turkey bacon, vegetarian baked beans, reduced sugar ketchup, and honestly did not think it needed the brown sugar. Depending on your canned baked beans, you might want a little sweetness but if so add it T by T at the end .... you don't need much. Also, since veggies are a dieters' best friend I added way more frozen baby limas, corn, and would have added green pepper too if I had some. Also, more onions ( I always use shallots) and a little garlic paste. So good I can hardly believe it's not decadent. Even with the substitutions, this recipe still wows a regular crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe! Very easy & simple to make plus filling. My husband loved this & that is saying something because he isn't fond of my NEW recipes! It's a keeper & will be made again for a get together or pot luck! Thanks Dee Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
It was good. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and next time I would only use 1/4 cup. With the can of baked beans it was already pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabine McWhirter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States