Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I am vegan and easily adjusted this recipe using Yves veggie ground round and soy bacon bits. It makes a hearty dinner that my whole family enjoys for pennies. We like it on baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I doubled this recipe and froze a couple of dishes for later. I used 6 different kinds of beans and a double sized can of baked beans. It was delicious, my only suggestion would be to stir it and let it sit a few minutes after taking out of the oven for the sauce to thicken up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Okay so this was too sweet for me...I don't mind sides this sweet but the main course!? Maybe it was the type of baked beans I used or something. It did taste a lot better after adding chili powder and some jalapenos to give it some spice and tone down the sweetness. I did drain half the juice in each can of beans and it was the perfect juicieness (SP?) If you use all the juice it will probably be soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Ann
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Wow, awesome recipe. I made this for a BBQ I went to and everyone wanted the recipe. I used 2 cans of baked beans in chile sauce which I did not drain. I drained the two other cans of beans, one was kidney, one was pinto. I used a pound of bacon, fried it crisp and crumbled it into the beans when everything was mixed. In the bacon grease, I sauteed 1/2 cup onion, 1/2 cup green pepper, and 1/2 cup red pepper. My family loved it and I am making it for the third time in two weeks. My older sons fought over who was taking the little bit of leftovers home. You have to try it!! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horsham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I printed this recipe up several years ago and finally got around to making it. It is delicious. I didn't change a thing. The kidney beans didn't cook up as well as the other beans but still quite tasty. This is the perfect dish to take to a gathering. Just be sure to serve with a slotted spoon as it is quite juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is similar to a recipe I have been making for years. It is good, but when I make it again, I will increase the ketchup, sugar and vinegar to give it a little more flavor. I think I will also drain and rinse the canned beans, which I didn't do this time as I was in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheddabizcuit
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I only had 1/3 cup of brown sugar and I forgot to put in the mustard, but this dish still turned out very good. I drained my beans for a thicker consistency and served it as a main dish with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
i have made many calico beans before and these are outstanding. I did however make 1 adjustment i used 5 cans of beans and use baby butter beans, i added black eyed peas to this recipe and it is wonderful. I will be making this for years to come on christmas and easter. I use it as the accompiant to ham, and au gratin potatoes!! WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Mayerle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ely, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Great recipe, however you don't need to use nearly that much sugar. Also drain your kidney and butter beans slightly or you will have too much liquid. BBQ beans work great in place of baked beans with pork...something I can't find here in Africa. Make extra and freeze, you will be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe.... can also be made in a crock pot (cook approx 4-6 hours on high) instead of being baked. Provides a great aroma through-out the house all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States