Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I browned the ground beef and fried the bacon until crisp, then threw everything in the crockpot on high for 5 hours...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Always a hit - I use pork-n-beans, black beans and garbanzo beans, sub ground breakfast sausage for ground beef, leave out the sugar all together and do not drain the beans. It is excellent over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is a really good recipe, it was a huge hit at a Coast Guard BBQ I went to. The only thing I did differently was I put 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I've made this recipe 3 times already and every bit is always gone. You really can't mess up this recipe & its so easy to substitute the ingredients. Great as a side dish or main meal with salads & bread & butter. I always prefry the bacon separate so its not soggy. A real crowd pleaser :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle P
Home Town: East Otto, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
A recipe that you really can't mess up and you can substitute as you need. I doubled the recipe as I was serving at least 12 adults. I used 2 28 oz cans of Bush's Original Baked Beans, 1 can of northern beans (drained) and one can of red kidney beans (drained). 2 lbs of ground beef and one pound of bacon. 1 cup ketchup. I used some yellow mustard - a good couple of squirts, 1 tsp. liquid smoke, 1 cup of brown sugar, and 1 tbsp white vinegar.... browned the beef and baked the bacon in the oven. I threw it all in a crockpot for about 4-6 hours. You could use whatever beans you have on hand. Sub BBQ sauce for some or all of the ketchup. Delicious - as a side or as the main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is the best recipe using a combination of canned beans that I have found to date. No need to change any of the ingredients. I liked how it came out so thick--a lot of similar recipes, for me at least, turn out way too saucy. Good BBQ-y flavor, too. My main suggestion is that if you want to skip washing that extra mixing bowl, use a large pot to fry the ground beef/bacon/onion mixture; then after draining (if you need to--I found that I didn't), mix in the cans of beans and then mix in the remaining ingredients. Then you can pour it directly into your baking pan. I also decided to use a large (28 oz.) can of baked beans, and I baked the casserole for a total of 50 minutes, until it was bubbling around the edges. I let it sit for 10 or 15 minutes after taking it from the oven while I made some biscuits to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Wonderful summer staple for outdoor grilling. I've made it three weekends in a row for a side while entertaining this year. I actually double the recipe and have copies of the recipe ready to hand out. The only change I've made is to add a chopped green pepper per pound of ground beef . Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
very tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I have had this receipe for years and it is always a hit..one time I added bratwurt sliced and quartered and served it as a dish at a company party..no leftovers ever...will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This recipe is really good. I made this for Christmas potluck and my toughest critc even enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States