Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I had a similiar recipe years ago...that I just loved. Used five different beans...all drained, kidney, butter beans, french cut green beans, pork and beans, and lima beans. I used half pound of bacon cut up and fried crisp...drained. lb of ground meat browned a chopped onion. What was great was the salty sweet taste, and all those beans ...well has to be good. I think as long as you use the ketchup, vinegar and brown sugar..you can use whatever beans you have. Great with cornbread or rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Great recipe! I made it exactly as written for a cookout with friends and family. Everyone loved it and my hubby said it was the best beans he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
soooo good! i grew up having this casserole at family reunion potlucks and always loved it. my mom isn't a fan of beans and didn't make it, though. i used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and cider vinegar instead of white, and i didn't have any dry mustard so i used a big squirt of french's regular mustard. came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
An old classic never really gets old, my family LOVES these beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandysGlassesRock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I made this for a picnic and almost everyone went back for seconds! Great recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I would give it more stars if it used less sugar. I also have made it on the stovetop with out baking and cooked it in the oven by adding biscuits on top in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This has been a dish that has been a favorite in our family for many years. You can substitute many different types of beans. Our original family recipe called for lima beans with the pork-n-beans and kidney beans. But you can pretty much use any three been variation. As a time saver I have found that you can use a good ready cooked microwave bacon instead of cooking the bacon from raw. It tastes exactly the same. I also like many others do not cook the bacon with the hamburger. Its been everyones favorite for as long as I can remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was good...changed two things. Reduced the brown sugar to 1 tablespoon and used ground turkey instead of hamburger. Next time will substitute baked beans for something else. Even with the reduced sugar, it was still a little too sweet my my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I like this recipe for Calico Beans - another recipe called for a can of green beans too and I liked it even better with them added. I put in the crock pot and they were delicious! I served with a baked potato and it made a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I browned the ground beef and fried the bacon until crisp, then threw everything in the crockpot on high for 5 hours...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States