Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I made this for a picnic and almost everyone went back for seconds! Great recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I would give it more stars if it used less sugar. I also have made it on the stovetop with out baking and cooked it in the oven by adding biscuits on top in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This has been a dish that has been a favorite in our family for many years. You can substitute many different types of beans. Our original family recipe called for lima beans with the pork-n-beans and kidney beans. But you can pretty much use any three been variation. As a time saver I have found that you can use a good ready cooked microwave bacon instead of cooking the bacon from raw. It tastes exactly the same. I also like many others do not cook the bacon with the hamburger. Its been everyones favorite for as long as I can remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was good...changed two things. Reduced the brown sugar to 1 tablespoon and used ground turkey instead of hamburger. Next time will substitute baked beans for something else. Even with the reduced sugar, it was still a little too sweet my my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I like this recipe for Calico Beans - another recipe called for a can of green beans too and I liked it even better with them added. I put in the crock pot and they were delicious! I served with a baked potato and it made a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I browned the ground beef and fried the bacon until crisp, then threw everything in the crockpot on high for 5 hours...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Always a hit - I use pork-n-beans, black beans and garbanzo beans, sub ground breakfast sausage for ground beef, leave out the sugar all together and do not drain the beans. It is excellent over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is a really good recipe, it was a huge hit at a Coast Guard BBQ I went to. The only thing I did differently was I put 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I've made this recipe 3 times already and every bit is always gone. You really can't mess up this recipe & its so easy to substitute the ingredients. Great as a side dish or main meal with salads & bread & butter. I always prefry the bacon separate so its not soggy. A real crowd pleaser :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle P
Home Town: East Otto, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
A recipe that you really can't mess up and you can substitute as you need. I doubled the recipe as I was serving at least 12 adults. I used 2 28 oz cans of Bush's Original Baked Beans, 1 can of northern beans (drained) and one can of red kidney beans (drained). 2 lbs of ground beef and one pound of bacon. 1 cup ketchup. I used some yellow mustard - a good couple of squirts, 1 tsp. liquid smoke, 1 cup of brown sugar, and 1 tbsp white vinegar.... browned the beef and baked the bacon in the oven. I threw it all in a crockpot for about 4-6 hours. You could use whatever beans you have on hand. Sub BBQ sauce for some or all of the ketchup. Delicious - as a side or as the main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States