Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Very delicous dish! I was skeptical but it really is fantastic. A few modifications- i added chopped green pepper and garlie to the meat mixture and only used a 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Really a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Very simple and of course tasty; drunk or not. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
We ate it as a main dish with fresh bread and it was excellent. Perfect for a winter evening!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanoush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I made this just as written, except that I used extra onion, and it turned out great--very flavorful. I also cooked it on the stovetop instead of in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
these beans were absolutley delicious!!! we've made them three times already! they are flavorful, easy , and are always eaten up super fast! the only thing i would suggest is to bake the beans for the half the time, covered, and the other half take the cover off and let some of the liquid drain off. if u leave the cover off the whole time they will be to thick, and if it is on the whole time there will be to much liquid. another suggestion, this casserole works great with any kind of bean, so don't bother with specifics, just use what's on hand. hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Yum! For a deck party I cooked this in the oven and then put it in a crock pot on warm and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is basically really fancy baked beans.This is an awesome recipe! I had been looking for this recipe for years! I finally found it! Great! A little more liquidy than I remembered but tastes the same! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Just made this yesterday for the Super Bowl in combination to my Mother's recipe. Everything was the same except the amount of brown sugar was cut to 1/2c & hamburger was at 3/4lb. I did add 1/4c of white sugar. Not sure why others were saying too sweet, I love it!!! Good & thick. My husband is not a huge bean fan but thought this was similar to chili, and consumed two HUGE bowls. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I had a similiar recipe years ago...that I just loved. Used five different beans...all drained, kidney, butter beans, french cut green beans, pork and beans, and lima beans. I used half pound of bacon cut up and fried crisp...drained. lb of ground meat browned a chopped onion. What was great was the salty sweet taste, and all those beans ...well has to be good. I think as long as you use the ketchup, vinegar and brown sugar..you can use whatever beans you have. Great with cornbread or rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Great recipe! I made it exactly as written for a cookout with friends and family. Everyone loved it and my hubby said it was the best beans he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States