Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
Our family loved this recipe. I had some extra variety ofdried beans, which I soaked overnight, and added them to the recipe as well. Serve with some homemade hearty whole wheat bread and you have a delicious wholesome meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Outstanding. A nice change from standard baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This is an excellent main dish. In my opinion, it is not a side dish as I saw someone else thought it should be used for. But, I do make it a bit different and don't know if it's better because of the changes. I fry the bacon seperate from the ground beef and cook it until crisp, but not burnt. Then I brown the ground beef. It will take longer then cooking them together, but recipe is very good when the bacon is cooked crisp. I also mix the brown sugar (1 C) with the ketchup to form a sauce. I then mix all the ingredients. I also do not use mustard or vinegar and it is always a huge hit! I saw some commented that they disliked the butter beans. Although I like the butter beans I always try to find baby butter beans since there not so big. Really much better in this dish then regular butter beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
Wonderful! I used navy beans instead of red beans. I will make this again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Great as a main dish too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
Last summer my Mom made this recipe for a picnic. Everyone LOVED it! I got the recipe from her and made it for a church function and everyone wanted the recipe! Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
My boyfriend LOVED this recipe!! He loved the sweetness (just right) and the ground beef. He looked at it funny at first. With the bacon pieces in it-it looks kinda nasty...but once he knew it was bacon and tasted it...OH MY GOODNESS, HE CLEANED THE WHOLE DISH OUT-WITH MY HELP--IN TWO NIGHTS--and I made a LARGE casserole dish of it. Thanks! It was just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
this is a great recipe-it just gets better when you warm up the left overs, that's if there are any. I cook for week on the weekends made it last Saturday and my husband asked for it again this week. Really recommend!!!!!!!!My thanks to you Dee Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Wow. Really good and ZESTY! Could add corn without changing the flavor much. Family enjoyed it and it was really good as leftovers. Would be great to take to a reunion or picnic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Osawatomie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
My husband and I loved this recipe. I am a big bean fan in general. I cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup (because I've had sugary beans in the past), I exchanged butter beans for green lima beans. I cut out the vinegar because I don't ever have any (!?) But it was Very TASTY. I said to my husband: this was really good, but it'd probably make a great side dish in smaller portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States