Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've eaten variations of this dish countless times at barbeques, etc., but I'd never made it before. I had a bunch of people expected for a very informal, quick dinner and this seemed a good entree. I doubled the recipe and put in a full pound of bacon, cooked crisp and drained. I used kidney beans, great northern beans and canned baked beans. Lean ground beef. The vinegar and dry mustard were indispensable, in my opinion: they provide the tang. I added some chopped garlic to the chopped onions; garlic can play a wonderful starring role, but it also does amazing things in a supporting role. Didn't put much in. Also added a little ground cloves, not enough to recognize, just enough to add the deep complexity cloves has. I used white sugar and molasses as I was out of brown sugar, but only about 1/3 C. for the whole double batch. If I added 1 1/2 C. of sugar to this, I could have just sliced it, added a dollop of whipped cream and served it for dessert. Don't understand the taste for overwhelming sweetness in main dishes. Anyway, it was fantastic: meaty, thick, tangy and DELICIOUS! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've made this main dish for years. It makes an excellent "dish to pass" but be prepared because everyone will ask for the recipe. You can truly use any beans you like as long as you use some pork and beans. My original recipe came from my mother many, many years ago and used all pork and beans. I like to bake up a batch of Boston Brown Bread to serve on the side. Also works well in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICHKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Great recipe! There are several variations out there. It is a hearty meal all by itself and always goes over well with guys.. I use ground turkey, omit the ketchup, vinegar and sugar and add lots of spicy brown mustard and garlic to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have been making this dish for years and it is always a hit wherever I bring it. It is one of those forgiving recipes...no ketchup? Add salsa? Don't like butter beans? Add black beans. As long as you keep the ratio close it is a winner. I have even left out the ground beef and added a pound of bacon and I like that best of all. Can easily put in a crock pot but I think comes out best when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I think it behooves people to act like ladies and gentleman. No matter how old we are, we must remember our manners. It is helpful, too, to actually try a recipe before judging. Otherwise, it makes one look like a nasty, inconsiderate oaf. This was a decent stew, quick to make and perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
If I use this recipe for the crockpot, I drain the beans. I don't drain if i am baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is a staple at all family gatherings. My version of the recipe calls for 1 tblsp liquid smoke. I always drain and rinse my beans to remove as much salt as possible. If your mixture is a little dry after rinsing the beans, add more ketchup and prepared mustard. We add Dijon. The flavor of this dish is even better the second day after the ingredients have been allowed to marry overnight. This is an easy casserole to prepare a day ahead and put into the fridge to bake the following day. Take your casserole out of the fridge 1/2 hour before baking so it comes up to room temp. Great as a topper on baked potatoes topped with shredded cheddar cheese. Kids like to add sliced hot dogs or Wranglers to make it a main dish for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairie City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is a good recipe, but much better if you substitute a pound of good bulk sausage (Jimmy Dean Country Mild is our favorite) instead of the ground beef. Much more umpf! We also add a cup of frozen corn. Then add a good hearty dash of Hot Sauce. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This recipe has been in our family for decades (my aunt gave it to my mom probably 30+ years ago) and it is always a crowd pleaser at potlucks and BBQs. I usually substitute canned lima beans instead of butter beans, and sometimes cook a gourmet bean blend with a variety of beans, peas and lentils, instead of the canned beans, and that is great too. I don't eat beef now, so I use ground turkey instead of beef, and cut back a little on the brown sugar, but any which way you make this dish, it turns out wonderful and people want the recipe. Can't go wrong....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Looks really good but was reluctant to consider trying because I don't eat/use ketchup and don't like beans with pork. After reading all the reviews I am looking forward to making my own small changes and enjoying this as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States