Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
We LOVED this recipe. Followed the recipe almost to the T...I did cook the bacon by itself, and sauteed the onion with 1/2 of a chopped red pepper. I would consider this a main dish. Husband said to put it on the list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is delicious! My modifications: I only used black beans cuz they're all I had on hand. I didn't add onions cuz I was lazy. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly, but did add a smidge of Pampered Chef's Maple Honey Mustard Sauce and a shake of PC's Smoky Barbecue Rub. The beans are fantastic! I'll be making this again and again. Thanks for a really easy peasy health recipe. I ate it over jasmine rice for the perfect protein (beans and rice mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I usually don't make Baked beans but was asked to bring to a party. Found this recipe and after all the comments and empty crockpot, I will put this in my use column. My grown son wanted to know where these beans have been all his life!! I used elk burger instead of hamburger and only added a 1/4cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of ketchup as I am diabetic and it still was great. That was making a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I made these in my crock-pot. Very nice change from my usual recipe which is mine that I keep in my head! I used chili beans in place of butter bean but will add them also next time. Cant wait for left-overs tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Who would have thought beans could be so tasty? They were great as a main dish. I used more bacon than was called for. I believe that they made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is almost identical to one I've used for over 25 years, the only difference is the addition of the butter beans, which can only improve this recipe if that is possible. Every time I make it, someone askes for the recipe. When our children were still at home I made a triple recipe just to have some left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe for years and I do nothing but brown the ground beef & onions then dump that and all the rest of the ingredients in to the crockpot and let it go on low overnight or ALL day. I don't precook the bacon and I don't even drain the beans! I double the recipe and use 1 can black beans, 1 can white beans, and 2 cans kidney beans. Couldn't be easier or tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
wow, this was a great dinner. the bacon was a an excellent idea to add. the only thing i changed was adding chick peas instead of butter beans (don't know what they are) & some chopped green peppers,cellery & mushrooms. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I received almost the exact same recipe from my Mom years ago, the only difference is that in place of white vinegar her recipe calls for 2 T molasses. I have modified it over the years and in place of bacon I use turkey bacon and in place of ground beef I use ground turkey breast. I also changed out the butter beans and use white cannelini beans, reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and omit the onions and they taste great this way, too. It really is an easy recipe that you can make adjustments to according to your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I've been making variations of this recipe for many years. You can do it on the stove top in a heavy stock pot...or slow cooker. Great to use kielbasa, chorizo or ground turkey. Use Real Bacon bits for less fat..and be sure to add Hungarian Paprika and then some red pepper flakes if you like it a little spicy. Best made the day before serving to really blend the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States