Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Who would have thought beans could be so tasty? They were great as a main dish. I used more bacon than was called for. I believe that they made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is almost identical to one I've used for over 25 years, the only difference is the addition of the butter beans, which can only improve this recipe if that is possible. Every time I make it, someone askes for the recipe. When our children were still at home I made a triple recipe just to have some left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe for years and I do nothing but brown the ground beef & onions then dump that and all the rest of the ingredients in to the crockpot and let it go on low overnight or ALL day. I don't precook the bacon and I don't even drain the beans! I double the recipe and use 1 can black beans, 1 can white beans, and 2 cans kidney beans. Couldn't be easier or tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
wow, this was a great dinner. the bacon was a an excellent idea to add. the only thing i changed was adding chick peas instead of butter beans (don't know what they are) & some chopped green peppers,cellery & mushrooms. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I received almost the exact same recipe from my Mom years ago, the only difference is that in place of white vinegar her recipe calls for 2 T molasses. I have modified it over the years and in place of bacon I use turkey bacon and in place of ground beef I use ground turkey breast. I also changed out the butter beans and use white cannelini beans, reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and omit the onions and they taste great this way, too. It really is an easy recipe that you can make adjustments to according to your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I've been making variations of this recipe for many years. You can do it on the stove top in a heavy stock pot...or slow cooker. Great to use kielbasa, chorizo or ground turkey. Use Real Bacon bits for less fat..and be sure to add Hungarian Paprika and then some red pepper flakes if you like it a little spicy. Best made the day before serving to really blend the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Used BBQ sauce instead of ketchup and topped with shredded cheese and scallion on individual servings. Kids were in heaven. Great BBQ potluck dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have making this casserole (or one very similar) for many years, and never tire of it! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight & we loved it! I left out the butter beans & used pork n beans instead of baked beans. And a little less brown sugar as my hubby doesn't like food that's very sweet, unless it's dessert...LOL. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've eaten variations of this dish countless times at barbeques, etc., but I'd never made it before. I had a bunch of people expected for a very informal, quick dinner and this seemed a good entree. I doubled the recipe and put in a full pound of bacon, cooked crisp and drained. I used kidney beans, great northern beans and canned baked beans. Lean ground beef. The vinegar and dry mustard were indispensable, in my opinion: they provide the tang. I added some chopped garlic to the chopped onions; garlic can play a wonderful starring role, but it also does amazing things in a supporting role. Didn't put much in. Also added a little ground cloves, not enough to recognize, just enough to add the deep complexity cloves has. I used white sugar and molasses as I was out of brown sugar, but only about 1/3 C. for the whole double batch. If I added 1 1/2 C. of sugar to this, I could have just sliced it, added a dollop of whipped cream and served it for dessert. Don't understand the taste for overwhelming sweetness in main dishes. Anyway, it was fantastic: meaty, thick, tangy and DELICIOUS! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States