Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe! Very easy & simple to make plus filling. My husband loved this & that is saying something because he isn't fond of my NEW recipes! It's a keeper & will be made again for a get together or pot luck! Thanks Dee Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
It was good. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and next time I would only use 1/4 cup. With the can of baked beans it was already pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I worked for 8 orthopaedic doctors and took this, in a slow cooker after letting it do it's thing on a low setting overnight, into work for a potluck luncheon. I only had pinto beans on hand so used that in place of kidney beans, added a can of Bush's baked beans with pork, reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 cup and these were the only changes I made. After the luncheon I had 18 requests for the recipe, 5 were from the doctors, 4 from RN's; big success? I'll say!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Needs a sweet corn bread topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is really sweet. Oh my gosh; crazy sweet. I didn't use the bacon, but I can't imagine it mattering that much; even if it were slightly smokier, it would still be crazy sweet. I even decreased the brown sugar by a third. Not bad - we did eat it - but I don't think it'll make a repeat appearance. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
this is a great dish. like another review i used black beans, pinto beans and baked beans. and mixed in some onion powder, garlic powder and chili powder in with the ketchup and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
We LOVED this recipe. Followed the recipe almost to the T...I did cook the bacon by itself, and sauteed the onion with 1/2 of a chopped red pepper. I would consider this a main dish. Husband said to put it on the list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is delicious! My modifications: I only used black beans cuz they're all I had on hand. I didn't add onions cuz I was lazy. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly, but did add a smidge of Pampered Chef's Maple Honey Mustard Sauce and a shake of PC's Smoky Barbecue Rub. The beans are fantastic! I'll be making this again and again. Thanks for a really easy peasy health recipe. I ate it over jasmine rice for the perfect protein (beans and rice mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I usually don't make Baked beans but was asked to bring to a party. Found this recipe and after all the comments and empty crockpot, I will put this in my use column. My grown son wanted to know where these beans have been all his life!! I used elk burger instead of hamburger and only added a 1/4cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of ketchup as I am diabetic and it still was great. That was making a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States