Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have been making this for ever, it is def a 5 star!! Great for potluck or BBQ's, rarely have leftovers!! I use 1 1/2# hamburger and 1# bacon, 2 lg cans of Bush beans, 2 cans each of kidney and butter, drained and rinsed, 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar and 2T molasses. Oh, don't forget the garlic. Adjust the proportions to meet your own taste. Yes is does have a lot of sugar but oh, so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royalton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe for MANY years and shared it with family members & friends. It's wonderful. We always have it at our family summer picnics! wilma b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have made this dish for years, but I've always called them "Cheater Beans." In place the of kidney beans (not a fan), I use pinto beans and Bush's Bourbon & Brown Sugar Grillin' Beans in place of the baked beans with pork. Instead of 1/2 cup of ketchup, I use 1/4 cup and another 1/4 cup of chile sauce with a dash of hot sauce for a little kick. I also use a pound of bacon and cook it separately from the ground beef and onion, to give it a crispness. Cooking it chopped with the beef/onions can make some of it burn and not cook uniformly. I cook the bacon in strips, then crumble into the rest of the mixture after it cools and drains a bit. And I use a whole sweet onion. This dish is wonderful for potlucks, BBQ's or just a simple, delicious mid-week meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Love this recipe and I am not usually a fan of beans! But this comes out a little sweeter with the brown sugar and types of beans. I didn't change a thing but I did double it and put it in the crock pot for a post football game celebration and there was none left...it was a huge hit. The first time I tried it was at a baseball party...it was used as a topping on hotdogs and hamburgers and the baseball dads loved it that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years, the only difference in the recipe I use is that it calls for chili sauce instead of ketcup...gives a little zip. Gets raves everytime, and there is seldom any leftovers. Adapts well to the Crockpot too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuAnn Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have been making this recips for years and it is a family favorite. As another reviewer suggested, I fry the bacon separately from the hamburger so it crisps and sweat the onion in the drippings. I use three cans of pork and beans in tomato sauce made by a company beginning with C who also makes soup. When my son visits from overseas, this is his requested homecoming meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
my family makes this with smoked kielbasa instead of ground beef. Delicious with corn bread on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My Mom has been making this recipe for over 30 years, she got the recipe from the Grass & Grain newspaper. We lived on a cattle ranch and she usually had 7 - 8 cowboys to feed a day. We always called it Cowboy Beans, always a hit no matter where I have taken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Love this recipe! Last time I made it I fried the bacon separately and I used 1/2 lb. of sausage and 1/4 c. red pepper, 1/4 c. orange pepper, 1 stalk celery and 1/2 chopped onion. I lowered the Brown Sugar to 1/2 cup. Oh my was this good. I brought home about 3/4 c. and that quickly disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have made this for many years. I also cook the bacon separately (make it crisp) but reserve the bacon until ready to put in the oven. Just lay the bacon on top of the casserole. When serving the casserole, the bacon breaks up but stays crisp. Unfortunately, the more bacon you add, the better. I use half a pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States