Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have been using this recipe for years, my family loves it, we substitute french style green beans (drain and rinse) for butter beans and barbecue sauce for ketchup, makes it a little more spicy. It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have been using this recipe for years. When I ask, "what can I bring" this is always the request. The only think I do differently is I usually use half pound of bacon and I use slice green beans rather than butter beans. The green beans are a really nice contrast in color and I think much tastier and less dry than butter beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omro, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've made this recipie for at least 12 years. My sister in law gave me thier family recipie. This is so easy and hearty that this and a break of french or sour dough roll, or your favorite bread choice. I personally add 1 tablespoon of the vinegar, 1 cup of crumbled bacon, 4oz is not enough and 1 can of Garbanzo beans. So I would say add ingredints to taste and Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HYSOL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
A tweak that I use in this is to use smoked sausage cut in 1/4 inch rounds instead of the ground beef. I also use 4 cans of beans-usually add black beans to what recipe calls for and drain and rinse all but the baked beans-Bush's of course! Reduce the brown sugar but sometimes add a little molasses, use more onion and a little green or red or both adds to the flavor levels. Great recipe-for us it's a meal and add some corn muffins-perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Karlstad, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Overton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Made this dish many times without any of the meat. People love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is a good recipe but to me it's better with some ground sausage in it too. I have made this for years and years. I use equal amount of bacon, lean ground beef and lean sausage. I don't use vinegar and after trying it, I'll be taking it out. It was too sweet so I'll cut way back on the sugar and I like to add some molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is one dish my husband will gladly make me because it is something he grew up eating. It would definitely categorize this as delicious, comfort food...we make it at least a few times each winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewsar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
everyone loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina lafreniere

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Very delicous dish! I was skeptical but it really is fantastic. A few modifications- i added chopped green pepper and garlie to the meat mixture and only used a 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Really a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Very simple and of course tasty; drunk or not. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States