Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Made it exactly as is for a family get together everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Dee Dee this was a great dish. I am sorry that I didn't follow your recipe exactly because I listened to others and added less brown sugar, when it definitely needed what you recommended. However my husband and I really loved it. I will definitely make it again for my barbecue this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
this is a wonderful quick side dish OR main meal too. I have made it as written and is a 5 star. I usually leave out the vinegar (there is enough in the ketchup and mustard) and use prepared mustard instead of dry..which I don't always have on hand. I sometimes add green and red pepper too. Lots you can do with this. sometimes black beans or pinto beans....what ever I have on hand! Don't always bake it either. GREAT hot OR cold!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECK317

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made this, however I strained the beans and added about half cup of water and half cup of Jack Daniels. YUMMY! I was told never ever to forget this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Can never make enough! The only thing I changed was to use the whole pound of bacon (I know) and I let that cook by itself a bit first, then added chopped onion and cooked both until bacon crisped up a little. Then I added the beef and cooked until brown, and only then did I drain off the extra fat. Obviously not the healthiest, but certainly the tastiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This dish has been around for a long time getting rave reviews for a good reason. It's delicious and easy to make, great as a main dish or side dish. This has been served at church potlucks and other functions and everyone always loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I triple the batch and add green pepper. Everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
A huge hit with my family!! Used BBQ sauce instead of ketchup because I was low on ketchup. A bit watery the first night but beans seemed to absorb the liquid by day two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This ended up meeting my expectations perfectly. Nothing special, but it was easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I have tried calico beans at a cookout before & loved them. This Independence Day I decided I'd make one after running across this recipe. I made it the night before as recipe stated but instead of baking in oven, I made stove top. Before I set it in fridge I tried it. It was good, but I felt as if it was missing something... I'm not sure what flavor could be missing and that is why I only rated a 4*. It's good, but not the best I've tried. I agree with others, it can be a meal in itself. It can even be served over rice or baked potato if you have leftovers.**REVISED**I learned the reason for the difference of taste is that I am used to a recipe that has 1/2 beef, 1/2 pork sausage meat blend. I did have people tell me they enjoyed this bean recipe. I will try the sausage/beef blend next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States