Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Wow....should have read the other critical reviews......this was way, way, way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Haven't tried this particular one yet but its the same ingredients for my Big Boy Beef n Beans recipe I've used for years (got from my ex-MIL). Our recipe calls for Liquid Smoke however, which really gives the dish some yummy flavor. Been awhile since I've made it, now I'm craving it lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This is a mandatory dish at our family reunion. I rarely measure anything and change it up every once in a while, but even though they never come out the same way twice, everyone loves them. I use all of the listed ingredients with the exception of dry mustard, I use prepared and I use cider vinegar instead of white. I also cook the bacon until crisp and remove and drain it leaving some of the bacon grease in the pan to saute the onions in. I cook the ground beef separately so that I can drain the grease off of it. With the exception of the pork and beans, I drain and rinse all of the other beans. I use dark red kidneys, baby butter beans because they are closer in size to the others and pinto beans. I always add lightly sauteed red and green bell peppers and sometimes hot Hungarian wax peppers. I also sometimes add sauteed matchstick cut carrots. If I have an opened bottle of barbeque sauce in the fridge, I put some of that in as well. I have made this with all ground beef and with beef and sausage, either way it is alway a hit. I take it to the reunion in a six quart slow cooker and I am disappointed if there is not any leftover since it's just the two of us and it makes too much to be practical to make regularly at home. You really can't go wrong with this when you adapt it to suit your tastes. If you don't like really sweet baked beans, use less sugar. If you like a little heat add hot pepper. The key to a successful recipe is to taste as you go and adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I have been making this recipe for at least 20 yrs. I do use Hot It. sausage as my favorite but I will divide 1/2 hot & 1/2 sweet It. sausage. Much more flavor over ground beef. Always requested for picnics & large gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This was a bit too sweet for me. Sugar depending on your sweetness preference. When I am serving to people who enjoy some heat in their food I often make a jalapeño cornbread or even add some diced jalapeños to the casserole. All in all this is a nice winter casserole that lends itself to a bit of doctoring to fit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This exact recipe was in a slow cooker cookbook I bought a few years ago and it was called Mrs. Grady's Beans. It has been a staple in my house for years. Real crowd pleaser. I use as a main dish, not a side dish as it is filling. Sometimes I lighten it up by using turkey bacon (or less real bacon) and less sugar to reduce the calories a little. It's really delicious. It doesn't reheat very well though. If you microwave leftovers it just doesn't taste the same as when you eat it the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I make these all the time but I also use a can of black beans drained and rinsed and use pork sausage instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This was a perfect simple dinner for a rainy, cool day. Delicious comfort food, is what I would call it. Made according to directions and it was perfect. I didn't find it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Loved all the beans in this filling main dish. Only complaint from hubby was that he wanted more bacon thrown in. LOL This dish got tastier for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Really easy. I use 1.5 lbs of burger and 0.5 lb of bacon. If going to transfer to a crock pot after in the oven, double the recipe because it only fills the crock pot 1/2 full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States