Caldo Gallega Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I thought this turned out very well. I only had ham, so I added extra. I'm sure the sausage would have added more flavor to the soup, so I made up for it a little by adding some black pepper, garlic salt and a bay leaf. The other change I did was to hand mash some of the potatoes in the soup to make it a bit thicker, as my husband doesn't like lots of broth. Nice, yummy soup. Thank you Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a great soup. I did make one slight change to it, as I had trouble finding Spanish Chorizo: I browned 1 pound of Mexican Chorizo and drained it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is an easy recipe and it's very good. The important ingredient is the chorizo sausage; otherwise it would be just some kind of minestrone. Cut the recipe in half if you just want a few servings, because it does make a lot of great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I added 1/2 teaspoon of cumin and 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper. We both thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Sorry, my friend got this recipe while she lived in Puerto Rico, I assumed it was Puerto Rican. I didnt mean to insult anyone. I am truly sorry. I still love the soup!! I do the broth, onion, ham. chorize, garlic and potatoes the night before. Put in the fridge and take the grease off the top the next day and add the beans and spinach. The flavors all infuse together and make it extra yummy. That is the is trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maxson Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very grateful for the recipe. Extremely delish! Thanks for sharing Miss Pam!m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We loved this soup! I sauteed the meat and onions before adding to the broth and added 1/2tsp black pepper and 1/4tsp cayenne pepper. Healthy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
The soup did not tase bad. But it is NOT however Caldo Gallego. I am from Galicia Spain where this dish originated from and grew up eating this dish. There are many more ingredients that were omiited like salt pork, kale, pigs feet,chicken,and beef. This is more of a quick fix version with not nearly half of the authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
15 year old said "spinach actually tastes good in here"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simply.tracyscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The flavor was good, but I noticed the leftovers were extremely greasy, even after skimming the fat from the broth, so we could only eat this the day I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States