Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
My husband is mexican and he thought this tasted just like his mom's (big compliment)! This is a definite saver. This type of soup is really good with chicken and fish also (just change the stock that is used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca-l

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I LOVE THIS DISH. I ADD GARLIC AND COMINO TO MINE. I ALSO ADD KNOR CONSOMATE FOR A GREATER TASTE. I ALSO ADD ZUCHINI SQUASH TO MINE AT THE END. I MAKE A PAN OF MEXICAN RICE FOR A MORE AUTHENTIC TASTE. ALSO, DONT FORGET THE CORN TORTILLAS AND THE HOMEMADE MEXICAN SALSA. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOSO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I have been making this soup for many years, my husband is Mexican and he and our 3 children love it. My recipe is very similar, I do add some minced garlic and I have used stew meat when the shank was not meaty enough, we like a lot of meat in this. I don't use beef broth but instead I use water and beef stock base. Also cumin is a must in this recipe at least a teaspoon or two. I have also frozen this with great results, it does make a lot! Be sure to add the cilantro near the end of cooking and be sure to squeeze lime juice into your individual bowl before eating with a handful of corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
The butcher recommended beef ribs which turned out amazingly moist and flavorful. This recipe is delicious. Will be making it again and freezing some this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Awesome!!! Added some ground comino and garlic powder and left out the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is an awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is just like my mother-in-law used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Immokalee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This turned out really good. My mother-in-law was upset when she found out I was making caldo de res from a recipe, but when she tasted it she was perfectly happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artesia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Make sure the potatoes are cut in small pieces so they can cook better, and next time i would put them a little earlier. I also added the knorr suiza seasoning and some cumin. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnhkitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Absolutely wonderful, we loved it. It was very flavorful and healthy. I did use zucchini in place of the chayotes and used frozen corn instead of corn on the cob. I am sure it would be great either way. Great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States