Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
MY HUSBAND LOVES THIS RECIPE...BUT HE EATS IT WITH A FRESH JALAPENO DICED FINE TO ADD IN TO YOUR BOWL AT SERVING TIME AND A SQUIRT OF LIME IN THE BROTH! ALSO WE USE TOMATO SAUCE OR FRESH TOMATOES IN IT THIS DEPENDS ON THE SEASONS...WE DONT USE THE PICKLED JALAPENOS,AND WE ADD THE FRESH CILANTRO INTO THE SOUP AND THE END OF COOKING WHILE HEATING UP THE CORN TORTILLAS!BUT I NEED TO SAY THAT A SPRINKLE OF SALT AND A SQUEEZE OF LIME ON YOUR TORTILLA BEFORE YOU ROLL IT UP GIVES IT THAT ULTIMATE TASTE OF MEXICO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I made this recipe exactly like it says and it was GREAT! The only thing that I would change is add a little bit more meat and slice the cabbage up in smaller pieces. Definately a keeper, I will make it again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
great recipe! It was a big hit. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piercedambition

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
And 5 more stars! This recipe has the best directions I've seen on this site! Remember, this soup is supposed to have chunks of veggies, so don't go crazy chopping everything into little morsels! This makes ALOT of soup...maybe 8 Aztec warriors could polish this off, but, heck, it get's better every day. I used 1 beef shank and 1 lb of boneless short rib meat cut into 1/2 cubes. I love the chayote, but if you can't find it, substitute 2 med. zucchini chunked, but don't put this in until you add the cabbage or it will over cook. I used 4 chunks of frozen corn-on-the-cob defrosted for the fresh corn. My only change was to also add 1 8oz. can of tomato sauce and a packet of Goya Sazon (if you read any of my reviews, it seems to find it's way into most everything). All you need for a complete meal is corn bread or garlic bread (yeah, excuse me for mixing ethnicities, but if it tastes good, do it!!) Thanks again for a fabulous recipe and for your attention to detailed instruction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very delicious and authentic. I substituted the salt for two cubes of Knorr brand beef bullion cubes. I also added two large fresh chopped tomatoes instead of the canned ones(since my grandmother used to make it that way). I used large chunks of beef stew meat (boneless) as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This soup was AMAZING! My boyfriend rated it as "best ever," and that says a lot because we make a lot of soup in our household. The only thing I changed was adding some extra broth because I like brothier soups. This is one I'll make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Growing up in a large Mexican family in Texas, this was the "Sunday" soup of my childhood. My grandmother made this every Sunday for the family. We ate it with warm corn tortillas, sliced avacados and fresh salsa. None of us were fond of cilantro or chayote, so they were never in our caldo pot. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it brings back some wonderful memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I made this for my Spanish class in high school. My teacher liked it so much she asked for the recipe. My dad gave it a 10 and he's tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe is very delicious and authentic. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILVLFE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Taste just lkie my Favorite resturants version !!!! wonderful on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojito Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States