Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Awesome recipe. Helped my boyfriend kick his headcold in no time! I added garlic and comino like my mom used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is similar to the caldo recipe that was handed down in my husband's family. The only difference is their recipe doesnt include tomatoes. Very good on a cold winter day. It is also easy to make in a crock pot. Just skip browning the beef and onions if you are in a hurry, throw all the ingredients together into a crock pot and let it cook on high for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamanunez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This far exceeded my expectations!!! Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Used stew meat. Added 1 T. cumin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I was craving this soup, that my grandma used to make when I was a kid. Overall, made for an AMAZING meal that reminded me of cold sunday afternoons spent watching Sabado Gigante with my abuelita. I didn't give it five starts because I thought it was a bit bland when I followed the directions as is. First off, I couldn't find beef shank at my local big box grocery store, so I went with a small chuck roast augmented with cut beef ribs. Instead of plain diced tomatoes, I used Del Monte diced tomatoes with green chiles. I also added half a can of tomato sauce when I added the vegetables to give it more color and flavor. Also, the chayote was too expensive for my taste, so I went with zucchini squash instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was great. My boyfriend is from Mexico and was impressed. I made a few minor changes...I used beef necks instead of shanks, added a little pressed garlic, a teaspoon of cumin, and diceds japs. Also I made this in the crockpot!! =] I just added the corn, cabbage, and potatoes in the last 45 minutes. 5 stars! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna7532

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Maine, USA
Living In: Knox, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was fantastic. I used boneless short ribs (wish I had trimed off some of the fat) and added the mexican spice packet as someone suggested and some Huy Fong chili garlic sauce (key to make it spicy). I served it at a soup party (without the chili sauce)and received a number of first place votes- I am entering it next year WITH the chili sauce and I think I have a good shot at winning. I make soup all the time and this one is really, really fantastic (and SUPER easy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
this soup is fabulous. i've made it several times - omitting the salt and chayotes. love, love, love this soup. making it in a few weeks for halloween party and i'm sure it'll be a hit as usual. serve with sliced avacado and tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ehreng
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Delicious... I only had chicken broth but added some beef flavoring in with the meats and it tasted just fine. Also added a fresh jalapeno and small chile when I put in the cabbage. The advice many people gave to add 1/4 t cumin was spot-on as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehreng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I loved this recipe. Reminds me of the soup my mom used to make all the time. Caldo de Res is actually from all over Latin America not only Mexico :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States