Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ehreng
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Delicious... I only had chicken broth but added some beef flavoring in with the meats and it tasted just fine. Also added a fresh jalapeno and small chile when I put in the cabbage. The advice many people gave to add 1/4 t cumin was spot-on as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehreng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I loved this recipe. Reminds me of the soup my mom used to make all the time. Caldo de Res is actually from all over Latin America not only Mexico :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
like, oh wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherokee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
All I can say is ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVABLE!!! This was not only the most beautiful soup I've ever made, but by far the most tasty! The lime and cilantro really make this soup, otherwise it just tastes like vegetable beef soup. Cumin as well is a necessity. Makes a lot, but so good. Looking forward to leftovers, as I'm sure when the flavors sit overnight, will be even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was not good and alot of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was sort of a "potpourri" soup. Some of this and some of that. Loved all the veggies. I cut the recipe in half and it still made enough for 8 so I'm putting some in freezer for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Just like my grandma used to make! It does taste better and better every day, and saving the corn on the cob for the last is the best part ! We never put potato in ours, used squash instead. I did add 2 tsp cumin, and used Rotel tomatoes. Hadn't had chayotes in years, they give just a slight bit of sweet. Serviced with fresh cilantro, lime and fresh jalapenos if you like some spice. Thank you for this recipe, haven't had good caldo in many years and can't wait to make it again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Gracie-lynn
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was just like mom used to make! I added a can of tomatoe sauce, and zuccini squash instead of the chayote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious! I use beef chuck cut into big chunks. I also make my own salsa to spoon into the soup. Serve with hot flour tortillas. Tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States