Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Most excellent soup ! For you out there that do not know how to follow a receipe,or use the correct ingredients and then give it a so so rating...and then claim you are an expert cook......you need to get back to the basics. Find another hobby...you are waisting your time. I had nothing but raves about this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry V

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
worth 10 stars better than most restraurants as written. I added 2 crushed garlic cloves because I like garlic. Excellent taste easy to make Very easy to eat as a main entree or soup before dinner I Love this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
THE BEST Cocido recipe out there ! I only enhanced it by adding 1 Tablespoon of cumin. Just marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merina
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Best flavor soup I've had in a long time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
this soup was delicious,the whole family had seconds on a cold rainy day.changed a couple things,used big beef short ribs and zuchini instead of chayote.great stuff,enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paull63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Awesome recipe. Helped my boyfriend kick his headcold in no time! I added garlic and comino like my mom used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is similar to the caldo recipe that was handed down in my husband's family. The only difference is their recipe doesnt include tomatoes. Very good on a cold winter day. It is also easy to make in a crock pot. Just skip browning the beef and onions if you are in a hurry, throw all the ingredients together into a crock pot and let it cook on high for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamanunez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This far exceeded my expectations!!! Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Used stew meat. Added 1 T. cumin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I was craving this soup, that my grandma used to make when I was a kid. Overall, made for an AMAZING meal that reminded me of cold sunday afternoons spent watching Sabado Gigante with my abuelita. I didn't give it five starts because I thought it was a bit bland when I followed the directions as is. First off, I couldn't find beef shank at my local big box grocery store, so I went with a small chuck roast augmented with cut beef ribs. Instead of plain diced tomatoes, I used Del Monte diced tomatoes with green chiles. I also added half a can of tomato sauce when I added the vegetables to give it more color and flavor. Also, the chayote was too expensive for my taste, so I went with zucchini squash instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States