Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Great recipe. I made it as written (although I did add a can of tomato sauce) and my whole family, including my 5-year-old, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coop816

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was out of this world! I substitited zucchini for the chayotes, and added a few seasonings (garlic, cumin, and Goya adobe seasoning). I also added a couple of squirts of lime juice from concentrate to the entire pot. Otherwise, followed to the letter, and it was to die for! I thought my picky eater would turn his nose up because of all the veggies, but he ate two bowls, which is saying a lot for him. Will definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great recipe and well laid out and explained as another reviewer also wrote. I did a couple things a bit different. I didn't brown the meat first (I usually do and yes it makes a difference). I threw everything but the chayote in to the slow cooker and left it on low. :) Enjoy this is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VioletSkies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as it is and it was so delicious!! it was my first time making it and my whole family loved it!! we are eating leftovers tonight! We also had homemade tortillas on the side! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trobinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This recipe is fantastic right off the paper. You can eliminate some of the steps and time from the 10 minutes here 10 minutes there by just turning the stove off at the end and let it finish out the cooking process on its own as it cools and fuses the flavors together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britt

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Sooooo good! I added some garlic cloves and smoked chipotle chili powder to it, and extra cilantro. Also, didn't have the corn on the cob, so I just added frozen corn. YUM. Definitely making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIEM68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This soup was delicioso! (I left out the pickled jalapenos.) The meat was seriously fatty, but tasted great. Next time I will use more broth and water so that I can add more potatoes and the whole head of cabbage. I ran out of room and could only stuff >half of the cabbage down into the soup. And the cabbage was soooo good. This soup tastes FANTASTIC, next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee Sloan
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe is excellent. It brings back so many fond memories and comfort to the soul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Sloan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It was my first time trying this and I must say that it was delicious. Almost as good as my mothers! Tip: as butcher for beef shank bone & add it for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marthamreyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I'm a black woman. My husband is Mexican and grew up in a traditional mexican (food wise) house hold. He told me about a beef soup that his grandma would make and it had squash, corn, tomatoes, etc! So I researched. I found this recipe and made it for him as a surprise (hoping and praying that it was what he was yearning for. When he tasted this Caldo de Res, he said it brought him back to his younger days. He felt that it was just as good as his grandma used to make it. He invited his brothers and sisters over and they all loved it. This recipe is a keeper for my Mexican! Thanx ALOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States