Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is a comforting, down home beef stew. There's no spice or seasoning other than the beef and vegetable flavor. Some would call it bland, but I call it comforting. Not all Mexican dishes are loaded with spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This soup is fantastic as is and is well-deserved of 5 stars. I kicked it up a notch by adding half a teaspoon each of chipotle powder and cumin. I had also made a roast the day before which I diced and used as the meat. This will likely become a staple soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Big hit at our house!!! Thanks for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I make soup almost every Sunday and decided to try this one. Excellent flavor! I used a can of corn since corn was not in season and added 2 packages of Sazon Goya cilantro and tomato! Will definately make again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was wonderful! My Hispanic friend made this for me before but I didn't get the recipe. This was very close, though I don't think she uses tomatoes. I couldn't find beef shank so I used about a lb of beef marrow soup bones and then another pound or so of beef stew meat. I also added jalapeno when I put in the corn and potatoes to give it a little kick and a bit of cumin as the other reviewers suggested. The flavor was superb, the broth to die for. The SO raved about it though he didn't "get" the corn cob in there. "What's that for? It's like soup but with a big chunk of corn in there." I disagree and love the idea that while eating and slurping such deliciousness one can take a break and eat one of my all time favorite things: corn on the cob! Fantastic, five stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Most excellent soup ! For you out there that do not know how to follow a receipe,or use the correct ingredients and then give it a so so rating...and then claim you are an expert cook......you need to get back to the basics. Find another hobby...you are waisting your time. I had nothing but raves about this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Vaughn White

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
worth 10 stars better than most restraurants as written. I added 2 crushed garlic cloves because I like garlic. Excellent taste easy to make Very easy to eat as a main entree or soup before dinner I Love this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
THE BEST Cocido recipe out there ! I only enhanced it by adding 1 Tablespoon of cumin. Just marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merina
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Best flavor soup I've had in a long time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
this soup was delicious,the whole family had seconds on a cold rainy day.changed a couple things,used big beef short ribs and zuchini instead of chayote.great stuff,enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paull63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States