Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Awesome soup!!! Very easy to make. My dad (Hispanic) told me he was in the mood for "Caldo." I didn't have a recipe that I use. I usually just throw all the ings. together and that's it. I'm glad I decided to try something different from what I usually make for him. It's one of the best soups I've ever had. I can't wait for my dad to get here to try it - he's bringing the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this soup as written, except I substituted beef short ribs (couldn't find beef shank with much of any meat on the bone). Although it calls for a lot of ingredients, I thought the end result was well worth the effort. It's is a terrific soup! I reminds me a lot of Vietnamese Pho. In fact, I'd bet adding basil leaves, mung beans and sriracha sauce would be great. Kind of a Mexican Pho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious! Just like my grandmother would make on the weekends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VidaM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Definitely follow the others advise. This recipe needs at least 1 tbs of cumin. I also thickened my soup a bit with corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
So fresh and hearty on a cold day!!! Must add jalapeño at the end!!! Perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great taste, I will definitely make this again and again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reyna
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This soup is DELICIOUS, coming from an Hispanic family they tend to make a lot of sopa de res, but this one is just amazing who would've thought of adding canned tomatoes to it? Not me but I'm glad I came across this recipe. Only thing I would say is the soup doesn't have a lot of flavor so I added some beef seasoning to it so enhance the flavor and it turned out good! I was looking at other reviews I came across with a lot of them saying add garlic and cumin... Glad I did turned out very delicious this is a must try recipe that I will surely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momof8
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I loved it and i added mushrooms was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
DEEELICiOUS ! I used 3 strips of bacon instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is the first time making this soup..it is delicious..great flavors..I added a little rice..will most definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States