Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I used beef short ribs (with bones) instead of the beef shanks because that's what my mom usually uses. This is what I did: 1) boil water 2) add meat and let it come to a boil 3) blend the garlic cloves, a piece of the onion, and salt and add to the pot 4) Towards the end, I added potatoes, chayote, and corn. I omitted the cumin, tomato, and cabbage because that's not how I grew up eating it. I omitted the carrots because I don't really care for them in my soup. For the leftovers, I plan on boiling some chile guillo, blend it, strain it, and add it to the soup for a different flavor, but yet still delicious. If I want it spicy, I will also boil some chile de arbol along with the chile guillo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made this yesterday, so good! The only thing I did different was to use stew meat and zucchini, also added 2 beef bullion cubes the last hour. My husband who is not a soup eater, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Added a dollop of sour cream before serving - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
To the folks that offered their suggestions etc... Remember, this is a slow cooker or crock-pot recipe. A slow cooker is a temperamental creature and has to be dealt with differently than your standard pot on the top of stove recipe. For one, the meat cooks fast! For two, the vegetables cook slow. I tried this recipe and because they claimed to know more because they might've grown up with the recipe, I followed some of the suggestions. End result; overcooked meat with way undercooked vegetables. I also can't understand how the original writer cooked the recipe in three hours with a slow cooker? Next time I will go with another's suggestion and cook the mix, all of it in at one time, for 8-10 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is great, I try it when someone at home has a bad belly, but instead of cumin I add a bit of fresh spearmint and just a handfull of rise. It works wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Smells great! I added a lot of changes though and it's still cooking. I added fresh corn on the cob, and instead of getting cabbage, I got a bag of already made coleslaw and added that along with a bag of shredded carrots. I used cayenne pepper instead of cumin. And I added shell pasta. :) I also used beef broth instead of water. I used beef neck bones with a little under a pound of meat between all three bones. I know those can impart some awesome flavor! I knew it wouldn't make enough for the amount of soup I made though, so I also added some beef tips. :) Will let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
amazing...family requests it time and time again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Perfect!! I just added Zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Yummy, I did wait to put veggies until half way of the cooking process. I did add fresh corn on the cob and zucchini just as my grandmother did back in the day. I also added a few cilantro cubes by Knorr. I think the beef shank is the key as using it adds flavor to the broth ( you can add a few beef boullion cubes to it as well)cut off extra meat around shank prior to boiling, I also added extra beef stew meat and served with fresh corn tortillas (dipping them in broth is a tasty must). I doubled receipe for leftovers, my 14 year old son who does not eat leftovers ate it next day and said it tasted better second day lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is very low calorie soup, but not very flavorful. If I were to make it again, I would use beef broth instead of water for sure. And cut the meat up before it cooks just to make things easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States