Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
I made this just as the recipe is written, so delicious.. Although the total time was half of that noted on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by vanessalovescooking
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Great easy tasty recipe . Made it for Mother's Day for my mother and law and she's been eating it since arrived ??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Really good caldo! A few changes. I browned the stew meat first then added it to the broth that has already been simmering (with veggies) - oh I also add corn on the Cobb. I add kale instead of cabbage about 15 minutes before serving. It's great over rice and one of my favorite comfort foods. Pepper and/or sea salt adds more flavor. Very similar to and reminds me of Beef Nilaga (Filipino beef soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I used the beef shanks but found them to be too fatty. I will try it again using oxtail or cubed beef for stew. Omitted the cilantro and used fresh Italian parsley as our family doesn't like cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My mother always told me that you should start the meat & water boiling first and skim off the blood scrum that comes from the beef then start adding the vegetables, etc. I also use vegetable stock along with the water and pureed can tomatoes instead of fresh, plus corn & calvaza squash. NOM, NOM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made as it. Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I used beef short ribs (with bones) instead of the beef shanks because that's what my mom usually uses. This is what I did: 1) boil water 2) add meat and let it come to a boil 3) blend the garlic cloves, a piece of the onion, and salt and add to the pot 4) Towards the end, I added potatoes, chayote, and corn. I omitted the cumin, tomato, and cabbage because that's not how I grew up eating it. I omitted the carrots because I don't really care for them in my soup. For the leftovers, I plan on boiling some chile guillo, blend it, strain it, and add it to the soup for a different flavor, but yet still delicious. If I want it spicy, I will also boil some chile de arbol along with the chile guillo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made this yesterday, so good! The only thing I did different was to use stew meat and zucchini, also added 2 beef bullion cubes the last hour. My husband who is not a soup eater, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Added a dollop of sour cream before serving - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
To the folks that offered their suggestions etc... Remember, this is a slow cooker or crock-pot recipe. A slow cooker is a temperamental creature and has to be dealt with differently than your standard pot on the top of stove recipe. For one, the meat cooks fast! For two, the vegetables cook slow. I tried this recipe and because they claimed to know more because they might've grown up with the recipe, I followed some of the suggestions. End result; overcooked meat with way undercooked vegetables. I also can't understand how the original writer cooked the recipe in three hours with a slow cooker? Next time I will go with another's suggestion and cook the mix, all of it in at one time, for 8-10 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States