Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This receipe was an excellent basic. However being Mexican American, I changed it up a bit. I used Ox Tails(med pckg/4) and added some Stew meat which worked grate. I used small whole cabbage,calabas,carrots,onion,small red potatoes, tomatoes and I cooked meat first for 45min(alone) then I added the vegtables and continued to cook for 1 more hour; This receipe throw it all in at once, vegtable like cabbage and potato/carrots will break apart if cooked to much. All it all it came out well, my husband loved it!! I do believe its better than his Moms!! PS.. he's asked me to make it again. oh!! I also added just a few shakes of TONY CHECERIES seasoning for flavor; and Use Limes when served to squeeze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
if you put beef,tomatoes,cabagge,onios,potatoes at the same time your vegetables will over cook cook your beef first when is half way cooked add your potatoes,carrots,chayote,onions when the potatoes are almost ready add the cabbage and italian squash and cilantro please leave the cumin out becuse it will give a taste of texmex and this is a mexican recepit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This is delicious. My girlfriend loved it. I only made a couple of changes: I cubed the beef and browned it with onions before adding beef broth and canned, diced tomatoes. I let that simmer for about 45 minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I used 1 piece of star anise to layer the flavor the broth, and threw in some green bell pepper I had left over. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I love this soup. It is soo good. My favorite mexican restaurant serves a caldo de res that I love, and I have been looking for a recipe to duplicate it at home and this is very close. I add slices of corn on the cob and large chunks of zucchini to make it like theirs and serve it with fresh lime, mexican rice (put a few spoonfuls of rice and salsa in your soup! awesome) Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I put everything in a crockpot and let it cook all day on low and it was delicious. No beef shanks at the market that day, but I used an inexpensive piece of beef with a bone in it (I think it was a beef chuck roast). I thought it important to use a piece of beef with a bone in it, and I really do think it enriched the broth. It was GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This was pretty good. Almost as good as my Dad made when I was growing up (he was from Mexico). I added corn on the cob and zucchini because that's how I always had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I love this soup. I added fresn corn on the cob and ground peppercon. I reminds me of the "caldos" my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
This was wonderful! My husband cooked this up when we all felt in the mood to sip soup in front of the fireplace and watch the World Series. So savory and delicious! It filled the house with the aroma of spices and beef. The lime adds a sour tang and reminds me of Thai hot-and-sour soup. I steamed some fresh tortillas on a rack above the simmering soup. Thank you for the recipe. We'll make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I love this recipe. It tasted just like my grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This soup came out okay after adding LOTS of salt and five beef boullion cubes. Before I added this it tasted like stale water. I followed the directions except for reducing the cilantro to 3 teaspoons so I don't know why it was so bland. It was not quite the caldo my Mexican boyfriend was hoping for but we still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States