Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This soup was just okay. I added a lot more cilantro at the end and that really added a lot of flavor. Although the recipe says it only makes 4 servings, I made it exactly as it is written and it made about 8-10 servings! My husband didn't care for it so I have a LOT of leftovers to eat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This was pretty good. Almost as good as my Dad made when I was growing up (he was from Mexico). I added corn on the cob and zucchini because that's how I always had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This recipe was fantastic! I added a bit more cumin & added corn on the cob (i cut them in smaller pieces)also, I only used half of the cabbage it called for. This was a BIG hit with my husband who's Mexican....he said it was better than his MOM'S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This soup came out okay after adding LOTS of salt and five beef boullion cubes. Before I added this it tasted like stale water. I followed the directions except for reducing the cilantro to 3 teaspoons so I don't know why it was so bland. It was not quite the caldo my Mexican boyfriend was hoping for but we still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This is delicious. My girlfriend loved it. I only made a couple of changes: I cubed the beef and browned it with onions before adding beef broth and canned, diced tomatoes. I let that simmer for about 45 minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I used 1 piece of star anise to layer the flavor the broth, and threw in some green bell pepper I had left over. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I made this recipe exactly as written except for the cooking time, which I reduced to two hours instead of three. What a wonderful soup! I have enjoyed it as leftovers especially, since the flavors have time to mix. Excellent with tortilla chips and salsa. And don't leave out the lime juice! It adds just the right kick. This is a keeper! Fast, easy, inexpensive, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
if you put beef,tomatoes,cabagge,onios,potatoes at the same time your vegetables will over cook cook your beef first when is half way cooked add your potatoes,carrots,chayote,onions when the potatoes are almost ready add the cabbage and italian squash and cilantro please leave the cumin out becuse it will give a taste of texmex and this is a mexican recepit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Very good, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This receipe was an excellent basic. However being Mexican American, I changed it up a bit. I used Ox Tails(med pckg/4) and added some Stew meat which worked grate. I used small whole cabbage,calabas,carrots,onion,small red potatoes, tomatoes and I cooked meat first for 45min(alone) then I added the vegtables and continued to cook for 1 more hour; This receipe throw it all in at once, vegtable like cabbage and potato/carrots will break apart if cooked to much. All it all it came out well, my husband loved it!! I do believe its better than his Moms!! PS.. he's asked me to make it again. oh!! I also added just a few shakes of TONY CHECERIES seasoning for flavor; and Use Limes when served to squeeze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
This was wonderful! My husband cooked this up when we all felt in the mood to sip soup in front of the fireplace and watch the World Series. So savory and delicious! It filled the house with the aroma of spices and beef. The lime adds a sour tang and reminds me of Thai hot-and-sour soup. I steamed some fresh tortillas on a rack above the simmering soup. Thank you for the recipe. We'll make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States