Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I made this recipe exactly as written except for the cooking time, which I reduced to two hours instead of three. What a wonderful soup! I have enjoyed it as leftovers especially, since the flavors have time to mix. Excellent with tortilla chips and salsa. And don't leave out the lime juice! It adds just the right kick. This is a keeper! Fast, easy, inexpensive, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
if you put beef,tomatoes,cabagge,onios,potatoes at the same time your vegetables will over cook cook your beef first when is half way cooked add your potatoes,carrots,chayote,onions when the potatoes are almost ready add the cabbage and italian squash and cilantro please leave the cumin out becuse it will give a taste of texmex and this is a mexican recepit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Very good, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This receipe was an excellent basic. However being Mexican American, I changed it up a bit. I used Ox Tails(med pckg/4) and added some Stew meat which worked grate. I used small whole cabbage,calabas,carrots,onion,small red potatoes, tomatoes and I cooked meat first for 45min(alone) then I added the vegtables and continued to cook for 1 more hour; This receipe throw it all in at once, vegtable like cabbage and potato/carrots will break apart if cooked to much. All it all it came out well, my husband loved it!! I do believe its better than his Moms!! PS.. he's asked me to make it again. oh!! I also added just a few shakes of TONY CHECERIES seasoning for flavor; and Use Limes when served to squeeze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
This was wonderful! My husband cooked this up when we all felt in the mood to sip soup in front of the fireplace and watch the World Series. So savory and delicious! It filled the house with the aroma of spices and beef. The lime adds a sour tang and reminds me of Thai hot-and-sour soup. I steamed some fresh tortillas on a rack above the simmering soup. Thank you for the recipe. We'll make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Loved this recipe and so did my husband. We use beef stew meat. This is definitely one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
My husband who is Mexican loved this receipe. I did add corn and my husband suggested that next time I add kidney beans. As an American I thought this soup was just too weird. I did eat the corn and that was about it. Also the meat I used was baby back ribs due didn't have beef shank. So mixed review. My husband loved it and I didn't really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I love this soup. I added fresn corn on the cob and ground peppercon. I reminds me of the "caldos" my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I love this recipe. It tasted just like my grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
Love this soup. Simple to make, and tastes great. I added some dried habenero chilis to make it spicy (3 is too many for most people). Next time I make it, I will only put in 1-2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISHAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States