Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
The caldo de res is very good, but I didn't cook it for as long I didn't want my veggies to get too soft.The taste was great and just like my mom makes it........ : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I haven't had this soup since I was a little girl. I made it and it was delicious! Just don't forget the lime! It's a very important ingredient. I didn't use the exact meat it called for. I actually used 2 lbs of beef meat chopped and it was delicious. Husband loved it! I also took the advice someone else gave-let the meat boil some before you add the rest of the vegetables. And I also didn't measure it exactly as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I love this soup. It is soo good. My favorite mexican restaurant serves a caldo de res that I love, and I have been looking for a recipe to duplicate it at home and this is very close. I add slices of corn on the cob and large chunks of zucchini to make it like theirs and serve it with fresh lime, mexican rice (put a few spoonfuls of rice and salsa in your soup! awesome) Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I put everything in a crockpot and let it cook all day on low and it was delicious. No beef shanks at the market that day, but I used an inexpensive piece of beef with a bone in it (I think it was a beef chuck roast). I thought it important to use a piece of beef with a bone in it, and I really do think it enriched the broth. It was GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This came out fantastic,i grew up on the mexico border and was yearning for some authentic mexican food,i used the serving size changer to 10, and im never one for using measuring spoons,just add here and there,,i made this for friends last night,,they couldnt stop eating, thanks alex
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This soup was just okay. I added a lot more cilantro at the end and that really added a lot of flavor. Although the recipe says it only makes 4 servings, I made it exactly as it is written and it made about 8-10 servings! My husband didn't care for it so I have a LOT of leftovers to eat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This was pretty good. Almost as good as my Dad made when I was growing up (he was from Mexico). I added corn on the cob and zucchini because that's how I always had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This recipe was fantastic! I added a bit more cumin & added corn on the cob (i cut them in smaller pieces)also, I only used half of the cabbage it called for. This was a BIG hit with my husband who's Mexican....he said it was better than his MOM'S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This soup came out okay after adding LOTS of salt and five beef boullion cubes. Before I added this it tasted like stale water. I followed the directions except for reducing the cilantro to 3 teaspoons so I don't know why it was so bland. It was not quite the caldo my Mexican boyfriend was hoping for but we still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This is delicious. My girlfriend loved it. I only made a couple of changes: I cubed the beef and browned it with onions before adding beef broth and canned, diced tomatoes. I let that simmer for about 45 minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I used 1 piece of star anise to layer the flavor the broth, and threw in some green bell pepper I had left over. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States