Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Was just okay. Will not make again......No enough flavor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
wow excellent recipe but i totally agree with some of the other reviews LEAVE THE CUMIN OUT, also for a real mexican taste OX TAIL makes the difference...... my parents make it like this all the time my dad claims it's even more nutritious..... who knows? but it is definately more delicious! ooooooohhhhhh also before i forget the lime juice is optional i like mine sans, thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Like others, we made some changes to the recipe--adding zucchini and decreasing amount of cilantro. Soup tastes just like soup from my wife's favorite Mexican restraunt in Santa Fe! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is so hearty and delicious! It reminds me of the mom and pop authentic restaurants in Houston. I like to throw everything in a slow cooker on low for 8 hours. The cumin and cilantro are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Perfect!! My husband is Mexican and his family made this soup for us on one of our visits. I have been trying to make something like this ever since but never got it quite right. This is exactly the recipe I needed. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsayce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This came out very good.... my husband loves this and so did my kids! definetly gonna make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
It was ok. It wasn't like the caldo @ my favorite resturant. I didn't have any soup bones for it. It is a good soup if you have wrestlers that are trying to cut weight. I will try it again and use soup bones rather than just meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My husband and I just finished feasting on this soup. It truly is the best I have made,I followed the recipe except I used beef neck bones(just like my grandma used to do). I cooked the bones for about 35 min then added all the veggies except the cabbage,I added it about 20 min before serving. The lime juice is the key ingredient to make this super special. I sucked on the neck bones,like grandma did. Does that gross you out,too bad,don't knock it til you've tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This recipe is a great basis for a soup and it allows the cook to add their own twist. I used precut beef cubes which I browned with the garlic and onion before i added the rest of the veg. I used chicken and beef boullion and added the cabbage at the end. It turned out delicious and I think the leftovers will taste even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
It turned out to be the best beef soup that I've ever made. My husband loves it & even told his mother about it..wow.. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States