Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Pretty good. Really close to my favorite place's Caldo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was a tasty beef soup. I followed another rater's method of putting all ingredients into a crock pot and cooking it over night. Next time, I'll add the cilantro right before serving, as I could not taste it at all after 12 hours in the crock pot. I skimmed the fat off of the surface before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
We loved this soup. Had to substitute 2 beef short ribs for shank and added one pound lean stew meat.Cooked one can of beef broth soup and meat in crock pot until meat was tender. Added seasonings and veggies (subbed 1 can chopped tomatoes and baby carrots) and continued to cook until veggies were done. Squeezing lime juice over soup in bowls is the South Texas way of serving caldo. Makes the soup !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebbronville, Texas, USA
Living In: Freer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I have to confess that I haven't tried this recipe, but it sounds good! I also haven't read all of the reviews, so somebody may have already suggested this: after serving, add in some sliced bananas! Trust me; it's soooo good! The combination of the sweetness of the fruit with the saltiness of the soup is fantastic! My dad is from southern Mexico, and that's how he ate it down there. Oh! And some sliced avocado doesn't hurt, either. I agree with one of the reviewers on here: don't add cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is one of the best soups I have ever had! AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheriT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Cooked this caldo up for my kiddos on a cold day and they loved it! I didn't even get a complaint about the veggies! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Made this last night and the entire family loved it. This is a great base that can be adjusted to one's own taste or savored just the way it is. A keeper for sure. Allow for a lot of prep time. Took me about 45 minutes to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texflix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
teriffic recipe ! best part of this dish , you can add whatever like. I add always add large elbow noodles when the cabbage goes in. if I don't forget to buy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Manor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Simply delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indio, California, USA
Living In: Centralia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I made this without the cabbage and it was great! I'll try it with cabbage the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States