Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I used the beef shanks but found them to be too fatty. I will try it again using oxtail or cubed beef for stew. Omitted the cilantro and used fresh Italian parsley as our family doesn't like cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My mother always told me that you should start the meat & water boiling first and skim off the blood scrum that comes from the beef then start adding the vegetables, etc. I also use vegetable stock along with the water and pureed can tomatoes instead of fresh, plus corn & calvaza squash. NOM, NOM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made as it. Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I used beef short ribs (with bones) instead of the beef shanks because that's what my mom usually uses. This is what I did: 1) boil water 2) add meat and let it come to a boil 3) blend the garlic cloves, a piece of the onion, and salt and add to the pot 4) Towards the end, I added potatoes, chayote, and corn. I omitted the cumin, tomato, and cabbage because that's not how I grew up eating it. I omitted the carrots because I don't really care for them in my soup. For the leftovers, I plan on boiling some chile guillo, blend it, strain it, and add it to the soup for a different flavor, but yet still delicious. If I want it spicy, I will also boil some chile de arbol along with the chile guillo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made this yesterday, so good! The only thing I did different was to use stew meat and zucchini, also added 2 beef bullion cubes the last hour. My husband who is not a soup eater, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Added a dollop of sour cream before serving - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
To the folks that offered their suggestions etc... Remember, this is a slow cooker or crock-pot recipe. A slow cooker is a temperamental creature and has to be dealt with differently than your standard pot on the top of stove recipe. For one, the meat cooks fast! For two, the vegetables cook slow. I tried this recipe and because they claimed to know more because they might've grown up with the recipe, I followed some of the suggestions. End result; overcooked meat with way undercooked vegetables. I also can't understand how the original writer cooked the recipe in three hours with a slow cooker? Next time I will go with another's suggestion and cook the mix, all of it in at one time, for 8-10 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is great, I try it when someone at home has a bad belly, but instead of cumin I add a bit of fresh spearmint and just a handfull of rise. It works wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melantha Elizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Smells great! I added a lot of changes though and it's still cooking. I added fresh corn on the cob, and instead of getting cabbage, I got a bag of already made coleslaw and added that along with a bag of shredded carrots. I used cayenne pepper instead of cumin. And I added shell pasta. :) I also used beef broth instead of water. I used beef neck bones with a little under a pound of meat between all three bones. I know those can impart some awesome flavor! I knew it wouldn't make enough for the amount of soup I made though, so I also added some beef tips. :) Will let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
amazing...family requests it time and time again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States