Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I am from Spain and one thing you must add to this recipes is 1/2 Tbs of Superfinly chopped Garlic (or galic powder will do just fine too) and 1/2 Tbs dried parsley. It adds the true spanish flare to this classic dish. Do this and this recipes will be well over 5 stars. Make some Aioli from this site and WOOOHOOO, mouth watering goodness awaits your taste buds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi's Delectables

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This was one of the best Calamari recipes I've used - and easy! The key to tenderness is to NOT overcook in the oil - even if it does't look quite as golden brown as you like. Just follow the recipe exactly. I served the calamari with the "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" recipe and homemade tartar sauce. A green salad completed this dinner. This recipe is another reason why I choose Allrecipe.com's 5* recipes - just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMDEMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
Excellent recipe. Very tender. What about a good dipping sauce? Maybe with a little heat. I'll check Back to see if anyone posted one. Thanks. Fortchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I've found that with this recipe, you dont want to cook the squid for more than 2 minutes, I cook it for 2 minutes with a few pieces in the pot at once ( dont cook to many pieces at once or the temp. of the oil will drop. I cook on avg 8 pieces at a time ). My family just loves this recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This is great!!!! We love calamari, and a local restaurant here just serves it w/ a nice, spicey marinara sauce - it is a favorite at this local Italian rest. I love the Classico Sweet Basil Marinara sauce -- but I doctor it up. I add crushed red pepper(to taste, and we like it spicey), white wine, and a little bit of sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
This was EXACTLY what I was looking for.....thank you very much for putting it on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Quick, easy and tender. It took away my fear of overcooked "rubberbands" with the very first bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Stately Raven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I always use the following ingredients to season the batter so that blandness is never a problem...2 cloves crushed garlic, 1 cup flour seasoned with 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp. baking powder and a pinch of cayenne pepper. Add enough water to this mixture to make a slightly thick batter. Mix thoroughly. Dip the calamari rings into this batter then coat with plain (unseasoned) breadcrumbs. Then deep fry (in small batches) for 1-2 minutes at about 375*F. Serve with marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I have made this twice now, and both times it's come out awful. After the first time, I assumed from the reviews it that it had to be my fault, but now I'm not so sure. Both times I made it, it was lacking flavor. Really needed more spice or something. It was like eating a bisquit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
My Nana is from Itlay and calamari was one of her favorite foods. I had no idea how to cook with calamari but I found this recipe and made this for her for her 95th birthday. I believe it was one of her favorite things she had eaten in recent years. The only change I made, upon recommendation from my fish monger, was to soak the calamari in milk for 15 minutes after cutting it up but prior to dredging it in flour. The calamari came out perfect. I applaud this recipe for being so simple and delicious, and for allowing me to memorialize my Nana on her birthday. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Grilled Sausage-Stuffed Calamari

Calmari is stuffed with sausage, red pepper, onions, and spices.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States