Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was okay as written, but it was kind of bland and the color was not too appetizing :( I needed to dredge the squid in seasoned bread crumbs, as well as the flour...I love fried calamari, but I probably won't make it again at home..it really smelled up my house...I'll go out and order it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was very good. I was surprised at how simple it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I've always been wary of cooking squid because I have a tendency to overcook it, and who likes eating fishy rubber bands?? Not only was this recipe ridiculously easy, I ended up cooking them perfectly for a change. The only thing I did differently was too add some garlic powder to the flour mix. The coating was perfect - light and ever so slightly crispy. These were better than calamari I've had in a lot of restaurants. And the lemon is a must. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
My family loved this receipe. They thought it is was some of the best they have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
kinda greasy, but really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very good calamari. I added a heaping teaspoon of seasoned salt to the flour and oregano mixture. Served with tartar sauce this was a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I followed the recipe to the tee -- except for using Italian seasoning in place of oregano. This recipe came out perfect...even my picky kids who never ate calamari before loved it. Thanks a bunch. Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
AWESOME recipe! It was a hit, my husband said it was the best Calamari he's ever had. I used a candy thermometer to make sure the oil was the right temperature and set the timer to cook them for 2 1/2 minutes just like the recipe called for. They were not chewy at all. I did double the flour mixture and added 2 tsp. dried parsley mixed with garlic flakes. The only thing I thought is that it had a bit too much salt, and I'm a salt lover, but nobody else complained. I found it easies to put the flour mixture in a ziplock bag, toss in the calamari rings and shake it in there. After they were coated I put them on a plate so it would be easiest to drop each batch in the oil at the same time so they would cook easiest and not have to dig around the flour mixture looking for the rings. Between batches I stuck the thermometer back in the oil to get it up to the right temperature. I served it with Prego spaghetti sauce cause I was too lazy to make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I tried this recipe as described first. It was sub-par at best. I took a reviewer's advice and added some garlic powder to the flour mix. I didn't have any buttermilk on hand, so I used regular 2% milk. I dipped the calamari in milk, then the flour, then repeated again. So the calamari was dipped twice in milk and twice in flour. It gave it a nice thick (but not too thick) coating of batter. It also cooked to a perfect golden brown in the oil. I also changed veggie oil to corn oil because thats what I had on hand. Overall, with a few changes, it came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Something is missing from this recipe and have to give it a bad review cause it would have been a waste of calamari. Flavor was good but after reading the complains here, I saw this on another recipe and decided to follow the advice. Try soaking the calamari anywhere from 30 minutes to two hours in Buttermilk if you have time (optional). Then drain the calamari and save the buttermilk. Coat the calamari with flour, pass thru the buttermilk and then flour again, then fry it. The batter will stay and it won't be wasted calamari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Chef John's Warm Calamari Salad

Enjoy a flavorful, healthy lunch with Chef John's Warm Calamari Salad.

Grilled Sausage-Stuffed Calamari

Calmari is stuffed with sausage, red pepper, onions, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States