Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
soo goood and soo easy! only problem was that when i didn't add the water into the flour mixture it just came out like not battered, and just fried. so i added about 2-3 Tbsp. of water into the mixture and fried it! it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I havent tried it yet so I will rate when I do. just wanted to mention, I saw people asking about dipping sauce. I dont know if it is a B.C. thing, but people around here seem to serve it only with taziki sauce. I love it so I never thought of another way. It makes a great cool dip, really nice in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candacewyscaver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and chopped some garlic into the oil. The rest I did as in the recipe. I wasn't sure how high I should have the heat because I don't have a thermometer but I started on high heat and then turned the heat down to medium when I felt it was too high. The smaller rings turned out great after three minutes, not tough at all. The larger ones I had to throw back on the frying pan, and added a slice of chili pepper with them. I love my food lightly spicy and the calamari turned out even tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by designingliz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Flavor wasn't that great...guess oregano just didn't cut it for me. However, what killed this recipe is the amount of salt called for. It turned out really salty. Next time I think I'll reduce the amount of salt by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Definitely keep lemon on hand it really brings out a great tasting flavor in the calamari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I always use the following ingredients to season the batter so that blandness is never a problem...2 cloves crushed garlic, 1 cup flour seasoned with 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp. baking powder and a pinch of cayenne pepper. Add enough water to this mixture to make a slightly thick batter. Mix thoroughly. Dip the calamari rings into this batter then coat with plain (unseasoned) breadcrumbs. Then deep fry (in small batches) for 1-2 minutes at about 375*F. Serve with marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I would just like to add that a good dipping sauce would be a spicy marinara.Just make or buy your favorite marinara and add crushed pepper flakes.Serve the sauce at room temperature or cool.The more pepper flakes the better.The lemon wedges will cool the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
im rating the technique, i just made this and it was great, i did use other seasoning cuz i know my taste. I also did not season the flour, why people do this i will never understand and you wonder why it was bland? i seasoned the calamari with season salt, oregeno, and motreal steak seasoning while it was wet cuz you need it to stick, then i put it in a baggie with flour to coat. I deep fried it for 3 mins, perfect. I served it with thai sweet and hot diping sause. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Quick and easy...next time will use a little less salt...but tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Grilled Sausage-Stuffed Calamari

Calmari is stuffed with sausage, red pepper, onions, and spices.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States