Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
For more crunch and the "breading" to stick, I dipped the calamari in egg and then panko. Can anybody suggest how to maintain the oil temperature? No "unlikely" aftermath happened on my first attempt cooking. Not that I know of anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I got my squid-hating husband to try one, then he asked for a few more. He said they were tender, and I agree. I dipped them in egg, then rolled in panko, then in the flour mix (with less salt in it). Fried in deep fryer for about 2 minutes or less--removed each ring as the panko on it browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I put half bread crumbs and half flour. I might even change it to more crumbs. Be very careful as to how hot you have your oil. You won't realize how much it will spatter until you put the first batch in. Cook for a couple of minutes only. I tripled the recipe. A nice sauce is a homemade Tartar Sauce. 1/2 C mayonnaise, 1 T chopped chives, 2 T relish, 1 T seeded mustard, 1 clove crushed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Very good recipe. I added garlic powder too. 2-3 minutes might even be too long, as others have mentioned do NOT overcook. This recipe had more flavor than similar dishes I have had in some restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Easy and delicious. I added bread crumbs instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was very good but a bit too salty for me, so next time I will reduce the amount of salt. I reduced the amount of pepper because I was serving it with a Parmesan-Peppercorn dipping sauce. I think it will be very good with the amount of pepper called for if not using a dip. I needed to double the amount of seasoned flour for 12 calamari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Delicious. Here is a hint to save some money. Buy your squid at your local asian supermarket I got 2 lbs. of squid for around $5. Had to clean it myself, no big deal, was glad to save a lot of money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this recently and it was so amazing that I swore I would never buy fried calamari again. It's so much easier than I thought it would be since I don't think I ever made fried calamari before. Anyone can make this. Making it again today. I did use kitchen scissors to cut the rings, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
HINT: Make 8 pieces at a time to prevent the oil's temperature from dropping! I learned this from a previous comment, and it really worked perfectly. This tastes better than most restaurants in Florida!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Grilled Sausage-Stuffed Calamari

Calmari is stuffed with sausage, red pepper, onions, and spices.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States