Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
A new addition to my menu. This was excellent. However, based on the recommendations of others I added 1/4 tsp garlic powder and I halved the salt to 1/2 tsp. Also, an added secret to tender calamari is to combine 1 cup whole milk and 1 tablespoon vinegar and let the calamari soak in this sour milk for 4 hours, then dump the sour milk and add 1 cup fresh whole milk and let set over night. I breaded my calamari wet in an old bread bag with the breading and shook. Because it was wet more breading stayed on the calamari which is why I had to half the salt. Do not bread the Calamari and let it sit for more than 5 minutes. I serve the calamari with a lemon wedge, marinara sauce and Aioli from this site, however, customers agree that the calamari by itself is excellent. Last thing, you only need to cook the calamari for 1 minute----Very Important to not over cook. Follow this and you will have some excellent calamari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Easy and great. I do it in a flash now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason L. Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Didn't get as crispy as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
The breading all fell off the calamari. What did I do wrong? The flavor was good, but they were naked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Excellent! Made this for the first time and friends said it was better than most restaurants, and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
the best restaurant quality or better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Turned out great will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
My Nana is from Itlay and calamari was one of her favorite foods. I had no idea how to cook with calamari but I found this recipe and made this for her for her 95th birthday. I believe it was one of her favorite things she had eaten in recent years. The only change I made, upon recommendation from my fish monger, was to soak the calamari in milk for 15 minutes after cutting it up but prior to dredging it in flour. The calamari came out perfect. I applaud this recipe for being so simple and delicious, and for allowing me to memorialize my Nana on her birthday. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Honestly, I thought the "breading" was a little thin. I took some suggestions and added the additional spices, but just overall felt like the flour mixture didn't stick well. I probably will go with the one from FoodNetwork next time. A little more involved, but better. Thank you anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Grilled Sausage-Stuffed Calamari

Calmari is stuffed with sausage, red pepper, onions, and spices.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States