Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Eat fried calamari all the time. Never made it before. Now that I know how to make it. I am never eating out again. This recipie was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This came out incredible! First, I found cleaned, frozen squid at my local supermarket. It was only $3.99 for 12 ounces. (This served 2 people). I combined flour, cayenne pepper, parsely flakes, salt and garlic. Wet the squid after slicing them. The flour mixture coats them very well. I agree with others in testing the first one to make sure it is cooked, but not overcooked. I don't think I cooked them any longer than 60-75 seconds, in small batches. My husband was bummed I didn't have any more to cook up, they were delicious! Keeping this recipe! For Rhode Island style, cut up some pepperoncini's and mix them into the finished product. YUM!! This is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I fried a few rings at first to try and this was very bland. I spiced up the squid with garlic powder, pepper and a little salt then added more garlic and pepper to the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Excellent!!! Whole family loved it. I added the garlic and parsley as suggested by SpanishPrincess and a little bit of cayenne and cumin for some kick. HINT - the calamari should be damp before adding to the flour a few at a time. If not, the flour will not stick and not too damp or it will clump).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
as a previous reviwer pointed out earlier. The flour does not stick to calamari. this recipe did not work for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaB6
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I added 1 tbs of garlic, 2 tsp of paprika and doubled the flour. Definetly a good idea to test out a little batch to check cooking time. Mine took a little under 2 minutes. With the changes I made I give mine a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Excellent! I doubled the flour mixture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Great flavor. Took the advice to add in some garlic and parsley. But the calamari got a little soggy as it sat on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Very good. I reduced the flour a little & added 2 tbsp breadcrumbs.As suggested by some of the others I added more seasoning.1/2tsp lemon pepper,1/2tsp paprika & 1/2tsp onion powder.Cooking each batch for 2 - 2.5 mins was perfect.Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Yummy! Just like at the restraunts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrilynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Grilled Sausage-Stuffed Calamari

Calmari is stuffed with sausage, red pepper, onions, and spices.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States