Calamari in Red Wine and Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Tried this for the first time and it was absolutely delicious. Only changes I made was instead of 4 cups of tomato sauce, I added a 14.5 oz can of Del Monte's chopped tomates with onions and green peepers and 2 cups of tomato sauce. I also added I can of chopped clams, one lb of shrimp and a 1.5 lbs of calamari. Family loved it with wheat spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Used two tubes of squid and halved ingredients. Had my own tomato sauce canned and the sauce was delicious!!! Had calamari in on low for about 8 minutes and were still a little tough... will know better next time. 20-30 minutes? You must have turned off the heat or sth. Thanks, though! Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blushing_unicorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
My family enjoyed this meal. I sauteed the calamari until just opaque, then put them into the sauce for about 5-10 minutes. Calamari wasn't rubbery at all. I served it over pasta and it was a hit! Is the 20-30 minutes to simmer the calamari a typo? Thanks for sharing such a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Like others I used Frozen Squid Rings. I made a Marinara from fresh Roma Tomatoes and added some sliced Mushrooms. I used Syrah Red Wine due to its dryness and bold complexity.I upped the Garlic and Lemon Juice, and added some fresh Parsley when the sauce was done. I also cooked the Squid for 10-15 minutes, just right.The sauce was simmered for about an hour before I added the Squid.I added some of the lemon juice to the sauce before I served it. I served this over Linguine cooked "Al Dente" with crusty bread and the Syrah Wine. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is very tasty, thank you. Just to clarify re the science of rubbery squid: Rubbery meat or seafood is caused by the action of the heat on the proteins, making them contract so they get tight and tough. However, as anyone who has ever cooked a pot roast knows, in the presence of liquid, slow cooking causes those same bonds break down again, and the protein becomes soft. So... with squid, the rule is either very fast or very slow. Never in between. Flash fry, deep fry or braise slowly. Squid cooked properly is unbelievably tender. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very simple and easy to add your own twist on. I only had marsala wine and it still worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BretABaker
Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I only used this recipe for the sauce, and I must say I've made it twice since I tried it, its amazing, I've been using it for every red sauce I need and it just makes everything taste amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ckelly976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I read some reviews before attempting this recipe.I used fresh tomatoes in place of sauce.I also used red pepper flakes instead of cayenne pepper.It was not so overwhelming hot,just warm.I also cooked the calamari 10 min..It was delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spalady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I thought this sauce was a tad too acidic but I still liked the taste. I cooked the calamari for only 10 min as other's suggested. It still came out rubbery. I added bay scallops and shrimp thank goodness. I think I would make this again. I also used diced tomatoes instead of the "sauce" so I simmered it much longer than the recipe called for to soften the tomatoes. It was a good recipe I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This one was REALLY good. I literally just finished eating it and had to get on here to review it. We made a few changes though. ~more garlic ~Tabasco sauce rather than the cayenne pepper ~added a basil leaf I also recommend that you do have some time to prepare this one as well. Cleaning the calamari took a bit longer than I thought it was going to. Overall though it was VERY good and well worth the prep time. ~~~Emerald05 P.S.- Expect the sauce to be a thin. If you like the sauce thicker I recommend simmering it for a longer amount of time to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States