Calamari in a Creamy White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Made this sauce to go over lobster ravioli. I had Gewürztraminer on hand so used that for the wine but I think next time I will use a Chablis or a Riesling. Didn't have any heavy cream so I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 which worked out perfectly (and kept the calories and fat to a minimum). Kept the ratio noted in the recipe and it thickened up just fine. Of course, I used 5 garlic cloves and the delicate lobster was still not overwhelmed. Perfect recipe for two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Didn't have cherry peppers on hand so I diced up half a green bell and sauteed with the garlic. I think I added too much red pepper flakes, I am kind of a heat-weenie too begin with but the sauce was dang near melt my face off hot. Besides the heat, the sauce was so flavorful! I will make this again but be more careful with the pepper flakes and I'm sure it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I made this sauce with shrimp and tossed with linguini. I made it again only tossed about half the sauce with pasta and poured the rest over tilapia fillets. The sauce was nice and tasty without over powering the seafood, this will be my new key Creamy White Wine Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
LOVED it!! Prepared exactly as directed. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BRTW
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great creamy sauce! I substituted the cherry chilis for 3 serrano peppers as I don't have access to cherry chilis. Used ~1/8 tsp of chili flakes and this was nicely flavoured. I enjoy spicy food but I didn't find this to be very hot - it simply has a nice flavor with a bit of kick. For those that prefer it milder I'd suggest just using 1 pepper (you can even remove the seeds if you're really worried) but don't completely exclude them as they are integral to the original taste of this dish. I also used shrimp instead of calamari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
A popular dish even with kids! I had bought a bag of 'seafood mix' from Aldi and wasn't sure what to do with it. Had calamari, shrimp and scallops. Made this sauce to go with it although I didn't have the cherry peppers. Served with the pasta for a different and tasty dinner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unfurledgirl
Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Very nice sauce! I didnt have the peppers, so I skipped them, and I switched the basil for green onions. It was still a very nice sauce! I might try it with shrimp next time. I think the peppers sound really yummy, I just didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Yummy. I'm always looking for new ways to serve seafood as my husband is a pescatarian (no meat, only seafood). I thought calamari would be a real challenge, and I expected to have to make an alternative meat dish for myself and my 12-year-old son. WRONG! We all loved the dish. I didn't have cherry peppers so I just left them out since previous reviewers thought it too hot anyway...I used a little extra red pepper flakes and a little extra garlic and went liberal with the parmesan when serving. Delicious! We all really loved it. I also used gemelli instead of fettucine and it worked well. I will use it again and I will get the cherry peppers because I think it will only make it better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States