Calabrese Style Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I served this as a side dish with roasted chicken and a green salad. Quick, easy and very tasty. The only change I would suggest is cooking the garlic in the butter first or better yet using roasted garlic instead. This recipe could be easily converted to a main dish by adding diced onion, salami or bacon, eggs, and fresh Italian herbs/seasonings. You might also consider sun dried tomatoes, olives, spinach, or even ham and peas. The options are endless with this solid recipe as a foundation. VS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Great bare roots pasta recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
a very good dish! Obviously the star of this dish is the romano cheese and that is what caught my eye. It adds so much flavor to the pasta. If you like the taste of romano cheese this pasta will suit you well. Others may not take to the strong sharpness of this cheese. I slightly undercooked the pasta then set it aside. I reserved a little of the pasta water while I continued preparing this dish. I thought the cooking method of tossing 2T of RAW garlic into the hot pasta would not suit well with me so I chose to sautee it in almost a 1/4 cup of butter, not 1/2 of a cup, along with 2T of olive oil. I added just 1T of minced garlic to the skillet. Once the garlic started to cook in the butter and olive oil, I threw in the pasta, then tossed to coat. I then added 3/4 cup of grated romano cheese and mixed to make sure everythiing was evenly distributed with cheese. I turned off the burner and added a little of the reserved pasta water to wet it slightly and to give just a little creamy "sauce". I topped it off with a little more romano cheese and a sprinkle of fresh, minced italian flat leaf parsely. I loved the sharpness from the romano cheese. It was nicely melted in the pasta. I am glad that I did not add the full amount of 2T raw garlic, as I know it would have been overpowering for me. I would prepare this dish again, only with my modifications. This was served along with, "Ciabatta" bread, from this site as well as a small tossed green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Great! My husband loves this, and he usually only likes red sauces for his pasta. I didn't have plain Romano cheese, but blended Romano/Parmesan. I also added a pinch of both basil and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Very good and extremely easy. The recipe calls for way too much butter. It can probably be cut by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Easy recipe, only concern was the amount of butter in the recipe. Next go round I am going to try chicken stock in the same measurement and see how it tastes. Served this along side Baked Chicken Parmesan which also called for half a stick of butter. A whole stick for two dishes in one meal is not too healthy. Wife had one comment: "Next time you make this, double it. I want left overs!" Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This recipe is a blast from my past. When my Calabrese grandmother used to fix spaghetti like this, I thought that she was too busy to walk down her basement and grab one of the jars of spaghetti sauce that she had canned. Thanks to you...I know differently...and...am able to duplicate the taste. It was as good as I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is a nice start to a good meal but needs a little work. I used 8 oz pasta. This was saturated in butter and oil to the point where it was dripping when I served it. Way way too much butter and cheese. I melted the butter first in a sautee pan and warmed the garlic for a couple of minutes before I added it to the pasta. I sprinkled a bit of parsley for garnish. I suppose this was on the bland side for us as we all added "hot" to our bowls. I added cayenne powder, hubby added crushed red pepper, and son added hot sauce. This was good, but this recipe needs a bit of adjustment. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
My husband said that I had to review this recipe & let people know how delicious it is. I did change it a little. First thing was that I used 1lb. of pasta. I had 2 turkey/herb sausages in the fridge that I wanted to use. I took the meat out of the casings & sauted it with 4 cloves minced garlic in a little olive oil. A friend gifted us some grape red & yellow tomatoes. I cut those in half & added them to the meat mixture while the pasta cooked. This released the flavor of the tomatoes. I did have to add some of the pasta water to the meat/tomato mixture, to deglaze the pan. I used tongs to add the pasta to the meat mixture. Next, I added 1/2 c. butter (cut in cubes), 1/2 c. olive oil & 1 1/3c. Parmesan cheese. It didn't seem like there was enough sausage but it was just enough to add a little flavor. It's true that it comes out a little gooey but that is good. It's all that wonderful cheese. I would order this an any restaurant! Mmmmm, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I added chicken to the recipe for more substance. I think next time I'm going to cut down the garlic and cheese AND butter, it was WAY to flavorful. My tastebuds like food lightly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States