Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe that I have fixed for years, but I added a can of stewed tomatoes and some oregano and basil which really adds to the flavor. I also only use about 1/2 an onion. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rock, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was exactly what i was looking for. I thought it was very good and light side dish. Or you could put on a burrito, taco or any type of wrap. My friends didn't really care for it though (they are kinda picky eaters anyway).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Served this as a side dish to chicken, and it was really yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I really only threw this together to use up a can of black beans that's been sitting in the cupboard gathering dust for months. So, I was absolutely amazed when Husband went crazy over it, wolfing down all four servings in one sitting! I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Good in burritos or tortillas. A bit bland alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I really like this recipe! Easy, lots of veg. Needed a little more seasoning, since I don't like spicy food and omitted the poblano. I also tried it as is and then with a can of diced tomatoes. The tomatoes definitely added a lot to the flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
my boyfriends mom showed me how to make this, i usually just go with garlic, oinion, corn, and zucchini then sautee it all together till the zuc is done... i tried it with the additions, its good but i guess im a plain jane kinda girl :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This was good but too much onion for my husbands taste. Feel like it could use a little seasoning too - perhaps next time I will try the chili powder suggestion. I too used canned diced chilis which gave it some kick (that is what I had on hand). Very fast and easy. Good basic recipe that I will make again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was very good and easy to make. I added a can of diced tomatoes with roasted red pepper and it gave it a nice kick. It was my first time using poblano peppers - now a favorite of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This is a fantastic dish that can be used either as a side dish or as an entree. I made it up in about 15 minutes, which is important for a person with minimal cooking/prep time like myself. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States